2022 Catalunya World Supersport Race One Result: Red Flag, Sprint Race

With good weather setting up for the nineteen lap race, unfortunately the red flags would come out after just one lap.

Federico Caricasulo took the lead into turn one, ahead of Nicolo Bulega and Dominique Aegerter. Peter Sebestyen crashed out into turn one. Nicolo Bulega took the lead from Federico Caricasulo and as Aegerter slipped through for second, pushing Caricasulo off the apex, Can Oncu followed him through into third place. After one lap, the race was red flagged for Sebestyen's bike catching fire on the run off for turn one. The penalty run off was covered in fire extinguisher foam and burning bike, making it unsafe for racing.

The race restart would be twelve laps after a Quickstart procedure with the same grid as before.

Federico Caricasulo once again took the lead into turn one, ahead of Can Oncu who switched under Nicolo Bulega into turn one to take second place. Lorenzo Baldassarri pipped Dominique Aegerter to fourth place as Can Oncu and Caricasulo swapped back and forth a couple of times. 

Lorenzo Baldassarri took the lead into turn one as Can Oncu missed his turn and dropped back to sixth, taking fifth off Adrian Huertas in a typically aggressive manner.

Dominique Aegerter set the fastest lap, a 1'46.075, on lap two.Into turn one, Federico Caricasulo took the lead off Baldassarri as Dominique Aegerter in third place went wide, holding his position in spite of a slide. Can Oncu in fourth place set the fastest lap a lap later with a 1'45.944, and riders went into turn one almost four abreast as everyone behind Caricasulo in the lead tripped each other up fighting for second. 

At the start of lap five, Caricasulo led Aegerter until turn one and Oncu followed Aegerter to push Caricasulo to third. Nicolo Bulega made a move into fourth but he lost the front, almost saving it for what seemed like several minutes before he finally fell off. 

Once Dominique Aegerter took the lead, he set a fastest lap of 1'45.157, breaking free from Can Oncu with rabbit in his blood. Can Oncu was equidistant between Aegerter and Baldassarri with Caricasulo and Bahattin Sofuoglu on his heels. 

Seven laps of twelve down, Dominique Aegerter led Can Oncu by a second and a half with Lorenzo Baldassarri, Federico Caricasulo and Bahattin Sofuoglu within striking distance. A lap later, Aegerter's lead was two seconds as Oncu had to fight off Baldassarri and Caricasulo behind him. Oncu lost second place to Baldassarri on lap nine, but Oncu and Caricasulo passed Baldassarri into turn one, and a lap later Caricasulo took second place into turn one but Oncu held third place from Baldassarri. Baldassarri took third place a few turns later.

At the start of the last lap, Dominique Aegerter led Lorenzo Baldassarri by four seconds, with Can Oncu and Federico Caricasulo in his wake, having taken second place from the other two in the clean air behind them down the straight. Oncu tried a long outbreak manoeuvre into turn ten, but it was from too far back and he compromised the last sector of the lap.

Dominique Aegerter cut his lead to three and a half seconds as he showboated over the line, ahead of Lorenzo Baldassarri. Can Oncu held the last podium spot from Federico Caricasulo a quarter of a second off second place. Bahattin Sofuoglu on the MV Agusta took fifth place almost a second behind.

After the twelve lap sprint race, Dominique Aegerter extended his lead by five points to twenty four points over Lorenzo Baldassarri who kept his title fight alive in second place. Can Oncu moved closer to third place in the title fight, taking advantage of Nicolo Bulega's DNF. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 3.472
3 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.245
4 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 0.140
5 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 4.697
6 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 5.122
7 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 8.388
8 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 8.536
9 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 8.790
10 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 10.661
11 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 11.391
12 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 0.955
13 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.068
14 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 12.436
15 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 0.069
16 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 13.431
17 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 13.646
18 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 14.805
19 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.099
20 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 0.057
21 23 I. VINALES Ducati Panigale V2 0.257
22 76 J. GIRAL Ducati Panigale V2 0.109
23 81 A. VIU Yamaha YZF R6 16.531
24 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 20.890
25 22 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 3.668
26 21 B. CURRIE Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.908
27 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.808
28 70 M. ALCOBA Yamaha YZF R6 42.348
29 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 58.436
RET 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 8 Laps
RET 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 8 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top