2013 Phillip Island Moto2 Race Result: Victory Taken In Anticlimactic Affair

Full report and results below:

Pol Espargaro has taken a resounding victory and the championship lead following the shortened Moto2 race at Phillip Island which was predictably something of an anticlimax. The Spaniard never really looked troubled apart from a brief spell of pressure from Thomas Luthi mid way through the race, in the end he couldn't match Espargaro's pace and did well to hold off a rampaging Jordi Torres in third, who took a deserved podium. NGM Speed Up rider Simone Corsi finished in a fine fourth place ahead of his team mate Alex DeAngelis who set the fastest lap of the race and new circuit record on his final lap, suggesting that there was plenty of life left in his Dunlop tyres.

Dominique Aegerter overhauled Mika Kallio on the last lap to take sixth place while Tito Rabat had to settle for a disappointing eighth, Rabat ran wide at turn one on lap five whilst chasing Espargaro and DeAngelis ahead of him, he dropped back as far as ninth and destroyed any chance he had to challenge for victory. Nico Terol finished in ninth place some ten seconds behind the leaders and ahead of Ant West in tenth. It was a pride restoring ride from the Aussie in front of his home crowd after starting from nineteenth place on the grid.

Axel Pons crashed yet again on the opening lap, the Pons Kalex rider out braked himself at the MG hairpin and thankfully narrowly missed cannon balling any riders ahead of him. To compound matters he was also given a ride through penalty after jumping the start along with Marcel Schrotter and Takaaki Nakagami.


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Time/Gap
1 40 Pol ESPARGARO Kalex 20'19.219
2 12 Thomas LUTHI Suter 0.591
3 81 Jordi TORRES Suter 0.679
4 3 Simone CORSI Speed Up 0.893
5 15 Alex DE ANGELIS Speed Up 1.111
6 77 Dominique AEGERTER Suter 3.073
7 36 Mika KALLIO Kalex 3.234
8 80 Esteve RABAT Kalex 3.655
9 18 Nicolas TEROL Suter 10.182
10 95 Anthony WEST Speed Up 18.083
11 11 Sandro CORTESE Kalex 18.317
12 88 Ricard CARDUS Speed Up 19.415
13 52 Danny KENT Tech 3 32.194
14 8 Gino REA Speed Up 32.835
15 7 Doni Tata PRADITA Suter 35.588
16 54 Mattia PASINI Speed Up 36.183
17 31 Kohta NOZANE Motobi 36.542
18 44 Steven ODENDAAL Speed Up 36.913
19 25 Azlan SHAH Moriwaki 37.099
20 97 Rafid Topan SUCIPTO Speed Up 37.426
21 23 Marcel SCHROTTER Kalex 41.817
22 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex 41.933
23 34 Ezequiel ITURRIOZ Kalex 47.089
24 49 Axel PONS Kalex +1'30.731
Not Classified      
  92 Alex MARIÑELARENA Kalex 6 Laps
  96 Louis ROSSI Tech 3 8 Laps
  19 Xavier SIMEON Kalex 9 Laps
  5 Johann ZARCO Suter 10 Laps
  60 Julian SIMON Kalex 11 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Should only have been half points - more of Dorna making up the rules as they go. Haven't they done such a good job with their ad hoc changes in the past couple of years?

Much more of this 'entertainment' and I'm giving up on GP racing that has manufactured results.