2009 Estoril 125 And 250 Test - Day 2 - Simon Crushes All-Comers, Barbera Tops 250s

Day two of tiddler testing in Portugal saw Julian Simon continue his reign of terror, setting the quickest lap of the session just a fraction off lap record pace, and well over a second quicker than second place man Pol Espargaro to boot. Places 2 through 5 were very close together, just a over a tenth separating Espargaro, Andrea Iannone, Bradley Smith and Sandro Cortese. British riders Scott Redding and Danny Webb finished down the field in 9th and 11th respectively, Webb one place ahead of former race winner Stefan Bradl, who in turn was one place ahead of remarkable rookie Lorenzo Savadori.

In the 250 class, yesterday's quick man Marco Simoncelli slipped to 3rd on the timesheet, forced to tolerate wild man Hector Barbera and arch rival Alvaro Bautista above him. But with 26/1000ths of a second separating the top three, Simoncelli will not be too worried. The three title favorites finished ahead of former 125 world champion Gabor Talmacsi and reigning 125 world champion Mike di Meglio. The two class rookies were about half a second off the pace of the front three, a hopeful prospect with still a lot to learn.

Testing concludes tomorrow.

250 cc

1Hector BarberaAprilia1'41.113
2Alvaro BautistaAprilia1'41.119
3Marco SimoncelliGilera1'41.139
4Gabor TalmacsiAprilia1'41.636
5Mike di MeglioAprilia1'41.703
6Alex DebonAprilia1'41.851
7Rattapark WilairotHonda1'41.980
8Roberto LocatelliGilera1'42.000
9Lukas PesekAprilia1'42.027
10Thomas LuthiAprilia1'42.298
11Hiroshi AoyamaHonda1'42.310
12Karel AbrahamAprilia1'42.362
13Hector FaubelHonda1'42.491
14Raffaele De RosaHonda1'43.432
15Axel PonsAprilia1'46.141
16Vladimir LeonovAprilia1'47.961

Circuit record: 2007, Alvaro Bautista, Aprilia, 1'40.521

125 cc

1Julian SimonAprilia1'45.046
2Pol EspargaroDerbi1'46.218
3Andrea IannoneAprilia1'46.314
4Bradley SmithAprilia1'46.328
5Sandro CorteseDerbi1'46.357
6Joan OliveDerbi1'46.703
7Sergio GadeaAprilia)1'46.765
8Jonas FolgerAprilia1'46.765
9Scott ReddingAprilia1'47.272
10Esteve RabatAprilia1'47.416
11Danny WebbAprilia1'47.679
12Stefan BradlAprilia1'47.690
13Lorenzo SavadoriAprilia1'47.766
14Takaaki NakagamiAprilia1'47.874
15Randy KrummenacherAprilia1'48.131
16Dominique AegerterDerbi1'48.383
17Lorenzo ZanettiAprilia1'48.596
18Maverick Vinales-1'48.612
19Miguel Oliveira-1'49.655
20Efren VasquezDerbi1'49.675
21Johnny Rosel-1'50.434

Circuit record: 2007, Gabor Talmacsi, Aprilia, 1'45.027

Back to top