2009 IRTA Test 125 Class - Day 2 - Simon Continues Reign Of Terror

The sun is shining, temperatures are soaring, and you'll never guess who's the fastest of the 125 riders on the second day of the official IRTA test at Jerez. Coming as a complete shock to absolutely no one, Bancaja Aspar's Julian Simon continued to top the timesheets, leading from Red Bull KTM's Spanish flyweight Marc Marquez in the morning, and Ongetta Team's Andrea Iannone in the afternoon. The only bright spot on the horizon - apart that is from the hot Andalucian sun - is that Simon's margin over the competition has dropped, with Marquez getting to within a tenth of a second, while Iannone closed the gap to just 0.065 seconds. 

The good news for Bradley Smith was his pair of third places, though the British rider was over three quarters of a second slower than his team in the afternoon. The other two Britons also saw an improvement from yesterday, Scott Redding setting the 6th fastest time ahead of De Graaf's Danny Webb in 7th. American rookie Cameron Beaubier finished 18th fastest in both sessions.

The China cup ended in a draw again, with Haojue's Michi Ranseder fastest in the morning, while Tomo Koyama was quickest on the Loncin in the afternoon.

Testing finishes tomorrow, and as MotoGPMatters will be at the track, we'll have a round up of all three days testing.

Session 2 times (afternoon session)

PosRiderTeamFastest lapDiff to prev.Diff to LeaderLaps
1Julian SIMONBANCAJA ASPAR TEAM 125cc1'47.465  14
2Andrea IANNONEONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'47.530+0.065+0.06515
3Bradley SMITHBANCAJA ASPAR TEAM 125cc1'48.301+0.771+0.83621
4Marc MARQUEZRED BULL KTM MOTORSPORTS1'48.394+0.093+0.92912
5Sandro CORTESEAJO INTERWETTEN1'48.401+0.007+0.93614
6Scott REDDINGBLUSENS APRILIA1'48.418+0.017+0.95317
7Danny WEBBDEGRAAF GRAND PRIX1'48.665+0.247+1.20018
8Sergio GADEABANCAJA ASPAR TEAM 125cc1'48.748+0.083+1.28316
9Joan OLIVESPANISH DERBI RACING TEAM1'49.123+0.375+1.65810
10Takaaki NAKAGAMIONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'49.254+0.131+1.78912
11Efren VAZQUEZDERBI RACING TEAM1'49.389+0.135+1.92414
12Dominique AEGERTERAJO INTERWETTEN1'49.390+0.001+1.92514
13Randy KRUMMENACHERDEGRAAF GRAND PRIX1'49.433+0.043+1.96819
14Esteve RABATBLUSENS APRILIA1'49.514+0.081+2.0496
15Pol ESPARGARODERBI RACING TEAM1'49.908+0.394+2.44312
16Lorenzo ZANETTIONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'50.275+0.367+2.81015
17Jonas FOLGERONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'50.371+0.096+2.9068
18Cameron BEAUBIERRED BULL KTM MOTORSPORT1'50.461+0.090+2.99613
19Simone CORSIJACK & JONES TEAM1'50.525+0.064+3.06013
20Luca MARCONICBC CORSE1'51.158+0.633+3.69317
21Stefan BRADLVIESSMANN KIEFER RACING1'51.448+0.290+3.9832
22Tomo KOYAMALONCIN RACING1'51.534+0.086+4.0697
23Lorenzo SAVADORIFONTANA RACING1'51.597+0.063+4.1324
24Jasper IWEMARACING TEAM GERMANY1'51.613+0.016+4.14814
25Michael RANSEDERHAOJUE TEAM1'52.249+0.636+4.78415
26Matthew HOYLEHAOJUE TEAM1'53.355+1.106+5.89014
27Johann ZARCOWTR SAN MARINO TEAM2'06.233+12.878+18.7681

Session 1 times (morning session)

PosRiderTeamFastest lapDiff to prev.Diff to LeaderLaps
1Julian SIMONBANCAJA ASPAR TEAM 125cc1'47.520  32
2Marc MARQUEZRED BULL KTM MOTORSPORTS1'47.625+0.105+0.10537
3Bradley SMITHBANCAJA ASPAR TEAM 125cc1'47.692+0.067+0.17247
4Pol ESPARGARODERBI RACING TEAM1'47.920+0.228+0.40034
5Andrea IANNONEONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'47.929+0.009+0.40929
6Takaaki NAKAGAMIONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'47.983+0.054+0.46338
7Sandro CORTESEAJO INTERWETTEN1'48.023+0.040+0.50335
8Efren VAZQUEZDERBI RACING TEAM1'48.322+0.299+0.80240
9Joan OLIVESPANISH DERBI RACING TEAM1'48.364+0.042+0.84446
10Sergio GADEABANCAJA ASPAR TEAM 125cc1'48.532+0.168+1.01230
11Jonas FOLGERONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'48.549+0.017+1.02930
12Scott REDDINGBLUSENS APRILIA1'48.590+0.041+1.07048
13Esteve RABATBLUSENS APRILIA1'48.628+0.038+1.10824
14Danny WEBBDEGRAAF GRAND PRIX1'48.744+0.116+1.22432
15Dominique AEGERTERAJO INTERWETTEN1'48.824+0.080+1.30432
16Lorenzo SAVADORIFONTANA RACING1'48.871+0.047+1.35120
17Randy KRUMMENACHERDEGRAAF GRAND PRIX1'49.186+0.315+1.66634
18Cameron BEAUBIERRED BULL KTM MOTORSPORT1'49.310+0.124+1.79044
19Simone CORSIJACK & JONES TEAM1'49.328+0.018+1.80835
20Johann ZARCOWTR SAN MARINO TEAM1'49.717+0.389+2.19742
21Stefan BRADLVIESSMANN KIEFER RACING1'49.816+0.099+2.29618
22Lorenzo ZANETTIONGETTA TEAM ISPA1'50.717+0.901+3.19738
23Lukas SEMBERAMATTEONI RACING1'51.179+0.462+3.65919
24Jasper IWEMARACING TEAM GERMANY1'51.194+0.015+3.67443
25Luca MARCONICBC CORSE1'51.293+0.099+3.77337
26Michael RANSEDERHAOJUE TEAM1'51.897+0.604+4.37722
27Luca VITALICBC CORSE1'52.630+0.733+5.11011
28Alexis MASBOULONCIN RACING1'52.760+0.130+5.24019
29Tomo KOYAMALONCIN RACING1'52.874+0.114+5.35436
30Matthew HOYLEHAOJUE TEAM1'53.117+0.243+5.59725


Back to top


Someone make Bradl faster! I have imaginary money riding on him to take the title.