MotoMatters Honored Twice In Silverstone Media Awards - Best MotoGP Blogger And Best MotoGP Tweeter

We are both proud and humbled to have been honored twice in the 2013 Silverstone Media Awards. was named Best MotoGP Blogger for the third year in succession, while our Twitter account @motomatters was also named Best MotoGP Tweeter. The awards are decided by popular vote, with MotoGP and F1 fans voting via the Silverstone Circuit Facebook page for their favorite racing-related publications and broadcasters. was not the only repeat winner. The official website took best website, British motorcycling paper MCN won best publication, British newspaper The Telegraph took best newspaper, and the BBC took best TV channel. would like to thank everyone involved in helping make the website what it is: Scott Jones, arguably one of the very best MotoGP photographers in the world, for his stunning pictures; Jared Earle for his outstanding coverage of the World Superbike series; Mike Lewis and Jacob Leech for their superb help in covering MotoGP weekends; and a host of other incidental contributors, such as Andrew Gosling, Venancio Luis Nieto, and the inimitable 'SofaRacer'. We would also like to thank all of the readers, and the many people who contribute to the discussion by posting their comments. The level of discussion in the comment section is widely respected and admired throughout the MotoGP paddock, with much praise for the intelligence of the comments and lack of acrimony. You, the readers, help to make this website and blog what it has become today.

If you love what does, you can help us to grow and further improve our coverage. You can join the growing legion of Site Supporters by taking out a subscription; you can buy one of the stunning 2014 Motorcycle Racing Calendars; you can buy a print from Scott Jones' website; or you can simply make a donation, small or large.

Below is the press release from Silverstone announcing the winners of the Silverstone Media Awards:

Winners of the 2013 Silverstone Media Awards announced

- Awards for best Formula 1® and MotoGP™ coverage voted for by fans

At the end of another thrilling motor sport season, which featured a drama-filled Formula 1® British Grand Prix and a nail-biting MotoGP™ British Grand Prix, Silverstone is delighted to announce the winners of its 2013 Silverstone Media Awards. Viewers, listeners, readers and followers voted in the circuit’s online poll, inviting fans to nominate their favourite source of news and gossip from the 2013 F1 and MotoGP™ paddocks.

All fans voting in the Silverstone Media Awards were entered into a prize draw to win a pair of hospitality tickets to either the FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX (04 – 06 July), or the Hertz MotoGP™ British Grand Prix (29 - 31 August) at Silverstone in 2014. Ten runners-up will each receive a Silverstone Goody Bag.

The winners of the 2013 Silverstone Media Awards, as voted by the fans, are:

Formula 1®:

Best television channel for F1 coverage:
Winner: BBC

Best national newspaper for F1 coverage:
Winner: The Telegraph / Sunday Telegraph

Best motor sport publication for F1 coverage:
Winner: Autosport

Best website for F1 coverage:
Winner: BBC Sport -

Best F1 Blogger:
Winner: James Allen -

Best F1 Tweeter:
Winner: @Lotus_F1Team


Best television channel for MotoGP™ coverage:
Winner: BBC

Best national newspaper for MotoGP™ coverage:
Winner: The Telegraph / Sunday Telegraph

Best bike publication for MotoGP™ coverage:
Winner: MCN

Best website for MotoGP™ coverage:
Winner: MotoGP™ official website -

Best MotoGP™ Blogger:
Winner: Motomatters -

Best MotoGP™ Tweeter:
Winner: @motomatters

Katie Tyler, Head of Communications for Silverstone Circuits Limited, said, “Formula 1® and MotoGP™ fans are hugely passionate. The Silverstone Media Awards offer a great platform for them to have their say and show their appreciation for the media outlets that provide them with news and updates, keeping them up to speed with everything that’s going on throughout the year.

“We have had a great response to the 2013 Silverstone Media Awards again this season, which is now in its third year. As the awards are voted for by fans it makes it extra special for the winners, who are recognised and celebrated for their fantastic work throughout the season. We look forward to presenting this year’s winners with their trophies and rewarding them for their contribution to another great year of both two- and four-wheeled motor sport.”

For further information on 2014 events at Silverstone visit, or call 0844 3728 270.

Keep up-to-date with all of Silverstone’s latest news, developments, products and images:

Follow us on Twitter - Find us on Facebook - Join us on Linked In - See us on Flickr

Back to top


Though I've always considered Motomatters far more than a "blog".

Congratulations David and the team. No Motorsport media outlet of any kind does a better job of conveying the passion and nuances of MotoGP. You are one great writer David.

All the best for Christmas and the new year.


Congratulation for highly deserved award.
And really, not only best blog, but also one of few people who know what is most matter to ask on press conference.
+ high level of most readers comments make it almost perfect combination!
Well done David!
Btw - marry Christmas and Happy New Year :)

You knew what you wanted to do, and you made it happen. is at the top of the pile.....again :)

Nice work

Many congratulations. It takes a lot to do what you have done so far and that too starting with meager resources. You deserve it all.

Of course all bloggers need to be congratulated that this site doesn't descend to slanging match levels which I think is due in part to your fair and impartial comments, its the only site I go to for moto gp news