2015 Moto3 Provisional Entry List Announced - 33 Riders With Few Surprises

The FIM has finally released the provisional entry lists for the 2015 season. The Moto3 entry list shows a field of 33 riders, with only a single seat still unnamed, the second bike in the Sepang International Circuit team, which is likely to go to a young Malaysian or Asian rider.

With most of the current top riders leaving, off to Moto2 or, in the case of Jack Miller, to MotoGP, the field looks very open for 2015. Romano Fenati and Enea Bastianini remain in their current teams, Bastianini switching from KTM to Honda. Brad Binder takes the place of Miller at Red Bull KTM Ajo, making him one of the favorites for next year. 

Fabio Quartararo is the most highly-anticipated entry into the Moto3 championship, Monlau team manager Emilio Alzamora even managing to persuade the FIM to change the rules to allow the French youngster to take part in the first three races, despite not reaching the minimum age of 16 until 20th April, the day after the Argentina round. He will be joined at the Estrella Galicia 0,0 team, not by Maria Herrera, as was widely expected, but by Jorge Navarro, currently riding for the Marc VDS Racing team in Moto3. There will be one female rider, however, as Ana Carrasco will be riding for the Boe41 RBA team, being entered by Aleix Espargaro. She will be joined there by Niklas Ajo and the young Argentinian Gabri Rodrigo.

The Moto3 entry list appears below:

No Rider Nationality Team Machine
5 Romano Fenati ITA Sky Racing Team VR46 KTM
9 Scott Deroue NLD RW Racing GP Honda
10 Alexis Masbou FRA Saxoprint-RTG Honda
11 Matteo Ferrari ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra
16 Andrea Migno ITA Sky Racing Team VR46 KTM
17 John McPhee GBR Saxoprint-RTG Honda
19 Alessandro Tonucci ITA Ambrogio Racing Mahindra
20 Fabio Quartararo FRA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
21 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Mahindra
22 Ana Carrasco SPA Boe41 RBA Team KTM
23 Niccolo Antonelli ITA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda
24 Tatsuki Suzuki JPN CIP Mahindra
29 Stefano Manzi ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra
31 Niklas Ajo FIN Boe41 RBA Team KTM
32 Isaac Vinales SPA Calvo Team Husqvarna
33 Enea Bastianini ITA Gresini Racing Moto3 Honda
40 Daryn Binder RSA Ambrogio Racing Mahindra
41 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
44 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
50 Hiroki Ono JPN Kiefer Racing Honda
52 Danny Kent GBR Kiefer Racing Honda
55 Andrea Locatelli ITA Gresini Racing Moto3 Honda
57 Eric Granado BRA Calvo Team Husqvarna
58 Juanfran Guevara SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Mahindra
63 Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL Sepang International Circuit KTM
65 Philipp Oettl GER TT Motion Events KTM
84 Jakub Kornfeil CZE CIP Mahindra
88 Jorge Martin SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Mahindra
91 Gabriel Rodrigo ARG Boe41 RBA Team KTM
95 Jules Danilo FRA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda
98 Karel Hanika CZE Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
99 Jorge Navarro SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
  To Be Confirmed   Sepang International Circuit KTM


Back to top


Why not Herrera??? Nothing against Carrasco, but they couldn't even make it through the season. They say Herrera is the more talented rider so why not bring her on? Staying another year in the CEV?

but Herrera was STILL a wild card in that race, like I said, nothing against Carrasco she did incredibly at Valencia, but I'm surprised Herrera isn't getting a shot especially with Carrasco's funding woes

Is she staying in the CEV for another year or something? I'm bummed, was looking forward to seeing a good female rider in Moto3 next year.

If the team couldn't even make it to all the races, It's no wonder her results were far worse than last year. And she was using the customer bike last year. I can imagine the kind of hand-me-down stuff she had to deal with this year. The situation cannot get any worse with Espargaro's team.