2009 Sachsenring 125cc Race Result - Dominant Victory And Last Lap Podium Drama

Result and race summary for the 125cc German Grand Prix at the Sachsenring:

Julian Simon took  a convincing victory in the 125cc race at the Sachsenring, leading away from the line and never relinquishing the lead again. Simon's victory was never in doubt after he dropped the chasing Nico Terol on the third lap, and he went on to win by a very comfortable margin of over 9 seconds. Terol seemed to have a similarly comfortable grip on 2nd, but by lap 7, Sergio Gadea was past and had dropped the Jack & Jones Aprilia man. Gadea was fast enough to build a gap of his own over the chasing pack, but not fast enough to match the brutal pace being set by Simon.

Julian Simon Sachsenring

Most of the entertainment in the race came over the battle for 3rd. At first, the main scrap was for 4th spot, Terol still holding 3rd by a small margin. Joan Olive, Simone Corsi, Marc Marquez and Andrea Iannone chased each other for most of the middle part of the race, Iannone working his way forward up to 4th before making a mistake and giving up the three places he had just fought so hard to gain. He spent another 8 laps working his way forward again, Simone Corsi crashing out on lap 15, trying to get back at Iannone, but Iannone had used up his tires and was fading.

Terol's earlier lead had evaporated, Marquez and Olive catching the Spaniard, and he was now clearly starting to suffer. The battle for 3rd would be between the KTM of Marquez and the Derbi of Joan Olive. Olive had the early advantage, but Marquez dived inside of Olive into Turn 1 to take 3rd. Down the Waterfall, the long hill on the back straight, Olive put in a strong challenge to take back the position, the two men coming together on the exit of Turn 12, but Marquez' determination to take the place back cost him dearly, highsiding off in the final corner and out of the race.

Marquez wasn't the only faller. The race was full of incident, with the most significant victim Simon's team mate and title rival Bradley Smith. Smith went down on the first lap, rejoined, but then fell again after just 4 laps. Smith is now 30.5 points behind Simon, and needing an incident from Simon to help cut that lead.

The other British riders had similarly difficult days. Danny Webb finished in 8th, but was handed a lot of places by riders crashing ahead of him, while Scott Redding retired with 8 laps to go.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 60 Julian SIMON APRILIA 39'57.337  
2 33 Sergio GADEA APRILIA 40'06.752 9.415
3 6 Joan OLIVE DERBI 40'14.896 17.559
4 18 Nicolas TEROL APRILIA 40'14.924 17.587
5 44 Pol ESPARGARO DERBI 40'17.077 19.740
6 11 Sandro CORTESE DERBI 40'18.115 20.778
7 29 Andrea IANNONE APRILIA 40'18.245 20.908
8 99 Danny WEBB APRILIA 40'35.558 38.221
9 77 Dominique AEGERTER DERBI 40'35.771 38.434
10 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA LONCIN 40'37.422 40.085
11 35 Randy KRUMMENACHE APRILIA 40'41.464 44.127
12 78 Marcel SCHROTTER HONDA 40'42.388 45.051
13 39 Luis SALOM APRILIA 40'56.941 59.604
14 16 Cameron BEAUBIER KTM Moto Sport KTM 41'15.494 1'18.157
15 79 Daniel KARTHEININGER HONDA 41'18.162 1'20.825
16 93 Marc MARQUEZ KTM Moto Sport KTM 41'22.474 1'25.137
17 7 Efren VAZQUEZ DERBI 41'27.764 1'30.427
18 69 Lukas SEMBERA APRILIA 41'27.865 1'30.528
19 53 Jasper IWEMA HONDA 39'59.115 1 lap
20 32 Lorenzo SAVADORI APRILIA 40'12.680 1 lap
21 76 Toni FINSTERBUSCH HONDA 40'27.720 1 lap
22 80 Damien RAEMY HONDA 40'31.349 1 lap
23 14 Johann ZARCO APRILIA 40'41.311 1 lap
24 87 Luca MARCONI APRILIA 40'55.828 1 lap
Not Classified
  45 Scott REDDING APRILIA 28'32.303 8 laps
  17 Stefan BRADL APRILIA 26'56.885 9 laps
  73 Takaaki NAKAGAMI APRILIA 26'00.997 10 laps
  24 Simone CORSI APRILIA 24'31.600 11 laps
  94 Jonas FOLGER APRILIA 22'35.171 12 laps
  88 Michael RANSEDER APRILIA 12'08.485 19 laps
  8 Lorenzo ZANETTI APRILIA 9'21.172 21 laps
  81 Eeki KUPARINEN HONDA 4'49.527 24 laps
  38 Bradley SMITH APRILIA 4'51.169 24 laps
  12 Esteve RABAT APRILIA 1'35.029 26 laps
  5 Alexis MASBOU LONCIN 1'36.880 26 laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top