2009 Portimao World Supersport Race Results - Dominant Winner Leads Flag-To-Flag

Results of the final World Supersport race at Portimao:

Eugene Laverty took a dominant win in the World Supersport race at Portimao, the Parkalgar Honda rider taking a popular victory at the team's magnificent home circuit. The Irishman led into the first corner and never looked back, quickly getting a gap and settling into a rhythm. It was Laverty's only hope of taking the 2009 World Supersport crown, but he would need Cal Crutchlow to finish below 10th to take that title from the Englishman.

Crutchlow was not prepared to accept a position as lowly as 10th, but then again, he was not going to risk a comfortable lead by pushing too hard, and so the Yamaha rider sat behind the duel going on for 2nd between Joan Lascorz and Kenan Sofuoglu. Sofuoglu triumphed in that battle, after Lascorz crashed out in the early laps, and went on to comfortably secure 2nd place. 

But Crutchlow was not going to cap his title with a podium appearance, as the Australian veteran Garry McCoy edged his Triumph ahead of the Yamaha to take 3rd, running too hard for Crutchlow to challenge for the spot without risking crashing out. Crutchlow settled for 4th, and lifted the 2009 World Supersport championship. 

Crutchlow's title was Yamaha's second individual World Championship of the day, after Valentino Rossi clinched the 2009 MotoGP title at Sepang. The World Superbike championship is to be settled in an hour's time, with Ben Spies in a good position to make it three world titles in a single day for Yamaha.

Pos No. Rider Country Bike Diff
1 50 E. Laverty IRL Honda CBR600RR  
2 54 K. Sofuoglu TUR Honda CBR600RR 3.443
3 24 G. McCoy AUS Triumph Daytona 675 13.874
4 35 C. Crutchlow GBR Yamaha YZF R6 15.144
5 8 M. Aitchison AUS Honda CBR600RR 16.608
6 51 M. Pirro ITA Yamaha YZF R6 20.008
7 23 C. Davies GBR Triumph Daytona 675 22.007
8 99 F. Foret FRA Yamaha YZF R6 22.034
9 77 B. Veneman NED Honda CBR600RR 23.031
10 117 M. Praia POR Honda CBR600RR 24.002
11 1 A. Pitt AUS Honda CBR600RR 31.794
12 36 M. Cardenas COL Honda CBR600RR 31.811
13 21 K. Fujiwara JPN Kawasaki ZX-6R 32.218
14 25 M. Laverty GBR Honda CBR600RR 33.196
15 101 K. Coghlan GBR Yamaha YZF R6 1'02.386
16 5 T. Pradita INA Yamaha YZF R6 1'06.401
17 9 D. Dell'Omo ITA Honda CBR600RR 1'08.010
18 88 Y. Guerra ESP Yamaha YZF R6 1'18.977
19 40 F. Gentile ITA Honda CBR600RR 1'19.080
20 199 O. Four FRA Honda CBR600RR 1'22.144
21 22 R. Muresan ROU Triumph Daytona 675 2'06.258
22 122 M. Walkowiak POL Yamaha YZF R6 1 Lap
RET 55 M. Roccoli ITA Honda CBR600RR 4 Laps
RET 28 A. Vos NED Honda CBR600RR 5 Laps
RET 16 S. Lowes GBR Honda CBR600RR 13 Laps
RET 26 J. Lascorz ESP Kawasaki ZX-6R 17 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top