2010 Monza World Supersport Race Result - Dominant Victory In WSS Procession

Results and summary of the World Supersport race at Monza:

Parkalgar Honda's Eugene Laverty took victory at Monza, confirming the World Supersport class' status as the class most likely to produce a procession. Laverty got away at the start, grabbed a couple of seconds' advantage over HANNSpree Ten Kate's Kenan Sofuoglu and MotoCard.com Kawasaki's Joan Lascorz, and cruised comfortably home to take the win.

Second place was a little more keenly contested, Lascorz and Sofuoglu swapping places early, but Sofuoglu took over 2nd early and started to gap the Spaniard. The podium seemed settled, but with a couple to go, Lascorz started to close down Sofuoglu quickly, the Turk's front tire having gone off completely. The Kawasaki rider got right on Sofuoglu's tail, attacking at Ascari with two laps to go, but ran wide. He got close again on the final lap, forcing Sofuoglu into some forceful defensive riding, but Lascorz never got close enough to place a proper attack, and was forced to settle for 3rd.

4th place also looked settled early, Fabien Foret with clear track both ahead and behind him, but a technical problem forced him out of the race just before halfway. Instead, a thrilling battle unfolded between Michele Pirro, Katsuaki Fujiwara, Chaz Davies and Gino Rea. Davies led early, but could not hold up the charging Hondas and Kawasaki for long enough to get away on his Triumph, and Davies and Rea slipped back, Davies' fellow ParkinGO Triumph rider Matthieu Lagrive taking over his place. Pirro eventually triumphed over Fujiwara and Lagrive, while Davies got the best of the other ParkinGO Triumph of David Salom and the Intermoto Czech Honda of Gino Rea.


Pos No. Rider Country Bike Diff
1 50 E. Laverty IRL Honda CBR600RR  
2 54 K. Sofuoglu TUR Honda CBR600RR 2.817
3 26 J. Lascorz ESP Kawasaki ZX-6R 3.043
4 51 M. Pirro ITA Honda CBR600RR 21.238
5 37 K. Fujiwara JPN Kawasaki ZX-6R 22.003
6 14 M. Lagrive FRA Triumph Daytona 675 22.056
7 7 C. Davies GBR Triumph Daytona 675 30.724
8 25 D. Salom ESP Triumph Daytona 675 30.730
9 4 G. Rea GBR Honda CBR600RR 30.857
10 117 M. Praia POR Honda CBR600RR 32.265
11 55 M. Roccoli ITA Honda CBR600RR 32.272
12 45 G. Vizziello ITA Honda CBR600RR 32.976
13 5 A. Lundh SWE Honda CBR600RR 55.474
14 19 A. Boscoscuro ITA Honda CBR600RR 55.641
15 8 B. Chesaux SUI Honda CBR600RR 1'19.469
16 10 I. Toth HUN Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap
RET 9 D. Dell'Omo ITA Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap
RET 99 F. Foret FRA Kawasaki ZX-6R 9 Laps
RET 127 R. Harms DEN Honda CBR600RR 15 Laps
RET 40 J. DiSalvo USA Triumph Daytona 675  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


I think it's safe to say that the 3 at the top today are the "aliens" of WSS. It just seems like the playing field in WSS is so level that without a doubt these three are the cream of the crop and will be the next class of WSBK riders to be running up front. Then maybe the 20 second gaps will go away.