2010 Miller WSS Race Result: Another Predictable Podium And Comfortable Victory

Results and summary of the World Supersport race at Miller Motorsports Park:

Ten Kate Honda's Kenan Sofuoglu took a relatively simple victory in a typically uneventful World Supersport race at Miller. Sofuoglu got away early from the start, but Eugene Laverty soon dived past and into the lead. Laverty got the merest hint of a gap, before being closed down by Sofuoglu once again. The Irishman held off Sofuoglu for three laps, the two men swapping places several times, before the Ten Kate rider made a pass stick, and started to drop the Parkalgar Honda man. 

The race was just about run by then. In the last few laps, Sofuoglu's pace dropped off and Laverty and Motocard.com Kawasaki's Joan Lascorz started to close, but were never near enough to threaten, Lascorz having the best shot at improving his position, but despite just about catching Laverty, he could not get close enough to pass. 

Behind the podium men, a much closer battle unfolded for 4th. Chaz Davies, Michele Pirro, Katsuaki Fujiwara, Robin Harms, Gino Rea and David Salom slugged it out for the entire race, though in the end, only Salom could actually make passes stick, and climb up to 7th. But even then, despite the closeness of the group, few passes were attempted, and even fewer could actually be made to stick.

With another processional race on the books, the World Supersport class is losing much of the excitement that it once had, and certainly no longer deserves the honorific "ax murderers class". With so few regular riders, and the front of the field dominated by a few bikes with very high levels of electronics, something will have to be done to bring back some of former glory to World Supersport.


Pos No. Rider Country Bike Diff
1 54 K. Sofuoglu TUR Honda CBR600RR  
2 50 E. Laverty IRL Honda CBR600RR 1.028
3 26 J. Lascorz ESP Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.673
4 7 C. Davies GBR Triumph Daytona 675 13.209
5 51 M. Pirro ITA Honda CBR600RR 14.209
6 37 K. Fujiwara JPN Kawasaki ZX-6R 14.386
7 25 D. Salom ESP Triumph Daytona 675 14.603
8 127 R. Harms DEN Honda CBR600RR 20.582
9 4 G. Rea GBR Honda CBR600RR 22.895
10 99 F. Foret FRA Kawasaki ZX-6R 27.100
11 40 J. DiSalvo USA Triumph Daytona 675 27.211
12 14 M. Lagrive FRA Triumph Daytona 675 28.293
13 55 M. Roccoli ITA Honda CBR600RR 28.393
14 117 M. Praia POR Honda CBR600RR 41.986
15 5 A. Lundh SWE Honda CBR600RR 48.402
16 46 T. Odom USA Honda CBR600RR 48.689
17 8 B. Chesaux SUI Honda CBR600RR 1'12.283
18 86 J. Farrell USA Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'56.115
RET 13 M. Paris USA Yamaha YZF R6 12 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top