2010 Assen 125cc Race Result - Backmarker Incident Settles Duel For Victory

Results and summary of the 125cc race at Assen:

Marc Marquez has taken his third victory in a row, by winning the first race of the day at Assen.

The Red Bull Ajo rider got a fantastic start, leading the race into the first corner, with the Bancaja Aspars of Bradley Smith and Nico Terol and the Tuenti Derbi of Efren Vazquez following in his wake. The front four had a gap by the end of the first lap, while championship leader Pol Espargaro had got himself tangled up with the scrap for fifth, and lost ground to the leaders.

Terol had got past Smith early on the first lap, and latching onto the tail of Marquez, the two leaders started to make a break. Further back, Pol Espargaro had finally cut his way through the chasing group, and caught Vazquez and Smith. Espargaro got through into 3rd on lap 3, but by then the gap to Marquez and Terol was too large. Espargaro had a comfortable margin over Smith, but 3rd was all that was in it for the Tuenti Derbi rider.

At the front, Marquez and Terol were perfectly matched for pace. Marquez led comfortably, while Terol was happy to follow, and wait for the last lap. His patience would not be rewarded, though, for the pair ran into backmarkers, and the situation started to get complicated. The complications would eventually settle the outcome of the race, as Marquez got past Dutch wildcard rider Jerry van de Bunt, in the southern section of the track, pushing the Dutchman off line, and into the path of Terol. Terol had to hesitate, then bullied his way past Van de Bunt, forcing the Dutchman off the track, where he crashed out. The incident had been enough for Terol to lose half a second or more, and by the time the Bancaja Aspar rider picked up the pace again, Marquez was gone.

The Red Bull Ajo rider came home unchallenged to take the win, while Terol was left to settle for second, with a long gap back to Espargaro. The podium shook up the championship standings as well, with Terol taking over the top spot, Marquez one point behind, and Espargaro forced down into 3rd, three points behind Terol.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ DERBI 37'48.923  
2 40 Nicolas TEROL APRILIA 37'51.255 2.332
3 44 Pol ESPARGARO DERBI 37'57.057 8.134
4 38 Bradley SMITH APRILIA 37'58.559 9.636
5 11 Sandro CORTESE DERBI 38'25.884 36.961
6 35 Randy KRUMMENACHE APRILIA 38'28.014 39.091
7 99 Danny WEBB APRILIA 38'28.320 39.397
8 39 Luis SALOM APRILIA 38'33.933 45.010
9 15 Simone GROTZKYJ APRILIA 38'34.595 45.672
10 94 Jonas FOLGER APRILIA 38'36.954 48.031
11 23 Alberto MONCAYO APRILIA 38'37.380 48.457
12 14 Johann ZARCO APRILIA 38'37.756 48.833
13 53 Jasper IWEMA APRILIA 38'43.131 54.208
14 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA APRILIA 38'47.978 59.055
15 84 Jakub KORNFEIL APRILIA 38'50.427 1'01.504
16 26 Adrian MARTIN APRILIA 39'04.992 1'16.069
17 50 Sturla FAGERHAUG APRILIA 39'05.098 1'16.175
18 78 Marcel SCHROTTER HONDA 39'06.952 1'18.029
19 69 Louis ROSSI APRILIA 39'10.661 1'21.738
20 68 Toni FINSTERBUSCH KTM 39'25.186 1'36.263
21 60 Michael LAMBRETTA 39'25.368 1'36.445
22 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN APRILIA 39'29.604 1'40.681
23 66 Pepijn BIJSTERBOSCH HONDA 38'24.288 1
24 64 Ernst DUBBINK HONDA 39'32.479 1
Not Classified
  5 Alexis MASBOU APRILIA 35'21.042 2 laps
  67 Jerry HONDA 30'53.352 6 laps
  65 Roy POUW APRILIA 26'04.054 8 laps
  72 Marco RAVAIOLI LAMBRETTA 20'02.989 11 laps
  87 Luca MARCONI APRILIA 14'21.809 14 laps
  12 Esteve RABAT APRILIA 7'03.952 18 laps
  7 Efren VAZQUEZ DERBI 5'18.705 19 laps
Not finished first lap
  32 Lorenzo SAVADORI APRILIA    
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top