2010 Misano WSS Race Result: Winner Stays Cool While Chasing Riders Trip Each Other Up

Results and summary of the World Supersport class at Misano:

Eugene Laverty has taken back the lead in the World Supersport championship, by winning the WSS race at Misano. The Parkalgar Honda got tangled up with Motocard Kawasaki's Joan Lascorz into the first chicane, allowing the young British Intermoto rider Gino Rea to sneak briefly into the lead, before Lascorz got back past again. In a very strong outing, Rea held up the charge of Laverty for another lap and a half, before losing 2nd to the Irishman at the end of the second lap. But the young Londoner's day was ended three laps later, by a hopelessly optimistic move by Michele Pirro, who wiped out the rear wheel of Rea's Honda with a desperation pass into the last corner.

Half a lap later, Laverty was also past Lascorz and into the lead. The Irishman appeared at first to be clearing off into the distance, but could not quite pull off his usual trick of running a punishing pace and winning by a big margin. Lascorz crept slowly onto the back of the Parkalgar Honda, joined a couple of laps later by HANNSpree Ten Kate's Kenan Sofuoglu. The front three closed up, until lap 13 when Sofuoglu started to attack Lascorz in an attempt to get on to Laverty. The Turkish rider attempted a pass at Quercia, but ran hopelessly wide, losing a lot of time to Laverty, and forcing Lascorz off line and losing the Spaniard time as well. 

Lascorz and Sofuoglu regrouped and closed on Laverty again, only for Sofuoglu to make exactly the same mistake on lap 18, at exactly the same place and with exactly the same consequences. Two laps later, as the Turk and the Spaniard closed on Laverty yet again, Sofuoglu altered his tactics, trying to run the inside line at Quercia, but then messing up the following Tramonto right hander so dramatically that the outcome was the same. Laverty romped home unchallenged, ahead of Lascorz in 2nd and Sofuoglu in 3rd.

The real entertainment in the race was back in 4th, where Triumph's Chaz Davies, Bike Service Yamaha's Roberto Tamburini, and Benjan's Robbin Harms were all beating each other up over the wooden spoon. Davies eventually came out on top, finishing ahead of Tamburini on the Yamaha YZF-R6 - raising questions about why Yamaha ever pulled out of World Supersport racing - and Harms on the Benjan Honda.

Laverty's win leaves him leading the title race by just three points over Sofuoglu, and thirteen ahead of Lascorz. This championship isn't over by a long way yet.


Pos No. Rider Country Bike Diff
1 50 E. Laverty IRL Honda CBR600RR  
2 26 J. Lascorz ESP Kawasaki ZX-6R 3.876
3 54 K. Sofuoglu TUR Honda CBR600RR 6.557
4 7 C. Davies GBR Triumph Daytona 675 12.815
5 44 R. Tamburini ITA Yamaha YZF R6 12.927
6 127 R. Harms DEN Honda CBR600RR 14.248
7 55 M. Roccoli ITA Honda CBR600RR 19.641
8 99 F. Foret FRA Kawasaki ZX-6R 24.360
9 117 M. Praia POR Honda CBR600RR 36.260
10 25 D. Salom ESP Triumph Daytona 675 36.598
11 14 M. Lagrive FRA Triumph Daytona 675 36.842
12 31 V. Iannuzzo ITA Triumph Daytona 675 59.036
13 85 A. Palumbo ITA Kawasaki ZX-6R 59.301
14 9 D. Dell'Omo ITA Honda CBR600RR 59.380
15 8 B. Chesaux SUI Honda CBR600RR 1'15.632
16 82 I. Vigilucci ITA Yamaha YZF R6 1'30.639
17 61 F. Menghi ITA Yamaha YZF R6 1'39.776
18 33 P. Cazzola ITA Yamaha YZF R6 1 Lap
19 10 I. Toth HUN Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap
RET 24 E. Blokhin RUS Yamaha YZF R6 11 Laps
RET 77 A. Torcolacci ITA Triumph Daytona 675 15 Laps
RET 5 A. Lundh SWE Honda CBR600RR 16 Laps
RET 4 G. Rea GBR Honda CBR600RR 18 Laps
RET 51 M. Pirro ITA Honda CBR600RR 18 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top