2010 Sepang Moto2 Race Result - Drama-Filled Race Throws Up Surprise Winner And Settles Championship

Results and summary of the Moto2 race at Sepang:

A drama-packed race in Malaysia saw Roby Rolfo take a surprise victory, but much of the glory on the day went to Toni Elias, who wrapped up the first ever Moto2 title, and extending Spain's championship joy at Sepang.

Elias started the race by making clear his intent to wrap up the title with a win, firing his Gresini Moriwaki off the line and into Turn 1 ahead of Thom Luthi. Luthi had no intention of just rolling over for Elias, and tried back again in Turn 2, but Elias held on to lead the race, Luthi trailing in his wake. They looked like getting away in the early laps, but a group quickly coalesced at the front, consisting of Elias, Luthi, Andrea Iannone, Scott Redding, Roby Rolfo, Alex De Angelis and a battling Julian Simon.

The Mapfre Aspar rider had got a terrible start, exiting the first corner in 9th place after starting from pole, but fought his way forward to get with the leaders, and especially Elias. Simon's only - very slim - hope of winning the championship lay in finishing well ahead of Elias. The strain was telling though: Simon was having to push so hard that he was asking everything it had from his Suter, and a little bit more. Simon got past Elias into 3rd on lap, only to lose out again the next lap, then running wide and losing 4 seconds on Elias. Again Simon pushed, putting in a superhuman effort to close the gap to the leaders on lap 7, but it was far, far too much. Simon slid off at Turn 1, lucky not to be able to get back on his bike, but unlucky to be down way in 30th. The championship was effectively over, and Elias did not even have to cross the line to take the Moto2 title.

With Elias now sure of the championship, the Spaniard could now relax and ride his own race. Thom Luthi had crashed out shortly after Julian Simon, handing Iannone the lead, and Roby Rolfo and Alex de Angelis were continuing their charge through the field to the front. Iannone's usual disappearing trick was not working, and Rolfo and De Angelis were already past Elias and were starting to hunt Iannone down. Once the pair caught him, they made short work of the Fimmco Speed up rider, getting past Iannone despite the young Italian's resistance. 

Rolfo clearly had the race in hand, dealing with Iannone's resistance and De Angelis' attacks with relative ease. Though Rolfo never got a real gap, De Angelis was never close enough to make a pass stick. The JIR Motobi rider tried on the last two laps, pushing wherever he could, trying the widest line onto the back straight in an attempt to maximize drive and get into Rolfo's draft. De Angelis almost succeeded, then tried again at Turn 15, the final corner, again trying to get the best of the drive on the exit in the hope of driving by Rolfo over the line, but it was not enough. Rolfo took his first ever victory in the Moto2 class, holding off De Angelis at the line. Andrea Iannone took the final podium spot, Toni Elias deciding to settle for the championship, rather than take risks to secure the last spot on the podium. Elias would appear on the podium anyway, to collect his newly-earned championship trophy.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 44 Roberto ROLFO SUTER 41'09.412  
2 15 Alex DE ANGELIS MOTOBI 41'09.452 0.040
3 29 Andrea IANNONE SPEED UP 41'15.327 5.915
4 24 Toni ELIAS MORIWAKI 41'15.734 6.322
5 6 Alex DEBON FTR 41'21.324 11.912
6 17 Karel ABRAHAM FTR 41'21.870 12.458
7 65 Stefan BRADL SUTER 41'21.931 12.519
8 77 Dominique AEGERTER SUTER 41'22.001 12.589
9 16 Jules CLUZEL SUTER 41'24.422 15.010
10 3 Simone CORSI MOTOBI 41'26.119 16.707
11 55 Hector FAUBEL SUTER 41'29.591 20.179
12 25 Alex BALDOLINI I.C.P. 41'29.874 20.462
13 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ BQR-MOTO2 41'31.050 21.638
14 56 Michael RANSEDER SUTER 41'31.800 22.388
15 71 Claudio CORTI SUTER 41'33.924 24.512
16 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT BIMOTA 41'35.778 26.366
17 80 Axel PONS PONS KALEX 41'40.142 30.730
18 9 Kenny NOYES PROMOHARRIS 41'40.492 31.080
19 10 Fonsi NIETO MORIWAKI 41'41.651 32.239
20 53 Valentin DEBISE ADV 41'43.216 33.804
21 60 Julian SIMON SUTER 41'48.860 39.448
22 87 Mohamad ZAMRI BABA MORIWAKI 41'55.443 46.031
23 5 Joan OLIVE PROMOHARRIS 41'56.669 47.257
24 8 Anthony WEST MZ-RE HONDA 41'59.470 50.058
25 28 Kazuki WATANABE SUTER 42'00.242 50.830
26 63 Mike DI MEGLIO SUTER 42'01.383 51.971
27 39 Robertino PIETRI SUTER 42'08.567 59.155
28 66 Hiromichi KUNIKAWA BIMOTA 42'26.171 1'16.759
29 95 Mashel AL NAIMI BQR-MOTO2 42'53.361 1'43.949
Not Classified
  2 Gabor TALMACSI SPEED UP 28'24.037 6 laps
  45 Scott REDDING SUTER 28'46.112 6 laps
  40 Sergio GADEA PONS KALEX 28'58.248 6 laps
  35 Raffaele DE ROSA TECH 3 23'12.917 9 laps
  72 Yuki TAKAHASHI TECH 3 17'32.716 11 laps
  12 Thomas LUTHI MORIWAKI 15'13.539 12 laps
  61 Vladimir IVANOV MORIWAKI 13'24.084 13 laps
  46 Javier FORES BIMOTA 13'30.930 13 laps
  70 Ferruccio LAMBORGHINI MORIWAKI 13'48.606 13 laps
  88 Yannick GUERRA MORIWAKI 2'23.685 18 laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


to Tony Elias for winning the first moto2 championship. He was dominant and consistent whole season.

Tony Elias has been chasing a world title for more than ten years now. Perseverance rewarded.

Whilst I always considered him a favourite, I didn't expect this dominance. Whilst others fell by the wayside Toni just kept racking up points, at times in great pain. A wonderful season in a field full of desperadoes and mercenaries.

What a shame this doesn't entitle him to an automatic return to the top table.

Moto2 champ automatically gets a place on the MotoGP grid, in a Dorna financed single rider team. A great way to show the world what you can do in the top class.