2011 Assen Moto2 Race Result: Clear Victory After Three-Way Battle

Results and summary of the Moto2 race at Assen:

Marc Marquez has taken his second victory of the season, taking charge of the race in the final laps after a race-long scrap with Kenan Sofuoglu, Bradley Smith and Yuki Takahashi.

It was Stefan Bradl who got off the line first, holding off a charging Marquez into turn 1, but that would be the last of the German's resistance. As the pack made their way through the tight northern loop, Bradl got shuffled back through the pack, quickly losing touch with the leaders.

A group quickly formed, consisting of Simone Corsi, Marc Marquez, Kenan Sofuoglu, Bradley Smith, Yuki Takahashi and Mike Di Meglio, Di Meglio the first to leave the group by crashing out. Corsi was the next to go, suddenly going backwards and losing touch, leaving Marquez, Sofuoglu, Smith and Takahashi to fight for the lead. Takahashi followed Corsi's example at first, but though he dropped off the back of the group, he always had them in sight.

Marquez, Sofuoglu and Smith all took turns at the lead, passing each other through De Bult, the Ramshoek, the GT chicane. But on lap 18, Marquez finally took control of the race, putting a brilliant pass on Smith through Hoge Heide, the fastest corner on the track, and a terrifying right-left flick. Takahashi - who had now recaught the group again - followed Marquez through, only to crash out two laps later. Sofuoglu got past Smith with a tough pass round the outside at the GT, but by then, Marquez' lead was too great. The Catalunya Caixa rider took victory by a comfortable margin, while Technomag CIP rider Sofuoglu ended well ahead of Tech 3's Bradley Smith. MZ's Ant West, riding the 2010 FTR, came home to take 4th, a very respectable result for the Australian.

Stefan Bradl ended up crashing out, with a little help from a tough pass by Blusens STX rider Tito Rabat, but as Marquez has only scored points three times, the German continues to lead the championship by 57 points.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ SUTER 44'30.409  
2 54 Kenan SOFUOGLU SUTER 44'32.806 2.397
3 38 Bradley SMITH TECH 3 44'36.827 6.418
4 13 Anthony WEST MZ-RE HONDA 44'53.212 22.803
5 15 Alex DE ANGELIS MOTOBI 44'56.291 25.882
6 75 Mattia PASINI FTR 44'57.260 26.851
7 34 Esteve RABAT FTR 44'58.534 28.125
8 12 Thomas LUTHI SUTER 44'59.121 28.712
9 4 Randy KRUMMENACHE KALEX 45'00.153 29.744
10 76 Max NEUKIRCHNER MZ-RE HONDA 45'10.176 39.767
11 25 Alex BALDOLINI SUTER 45'17.567 47.158
12 29 Andrea IANNONE SUTER 45'21.255 50.846
13 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ FTR 45'27.527 57.118
14 3 Simone CORSI FTR 45'31.184 1'00.775
15 71 Claudio CORTI SUTER 45'36.719 1'06.310
16 40 Aleix ESPARGARO PONS KALEX 45'37.173 1'06.764
17 51 Michele PIRRO MORIWAKI 45'37.232 1'06.823
18 77 Dominique AEGERTER SUTER 45'46.705 1'16.296
19 88 Ricard CARDUS MORIWAKI 45'51.933 1'21.524
20 31 Carmelo MORALES MORIWAKI 45'52.698 1'22.289
21 49 Kev COGHLAN FTR 46'08.570 1'38.161
22 66 Michael VAN DER MARK TEN KATE 46'12.297 1'41.888
23 21 Javier FORES SUTER 46'12.598 1'42.189
24 45 Scott REDDING SUTER 44'33.423 1 lap
25 95 Mashel AL NAIMI MORIWAKI 44'35.214 1 lap
26 39 Robertino PIETRI SUTER 44'43.949 1 lap
Not Classified
  65 Stefan BRADL KALEX 37'26.902 4 laps
  97 Steven ODENDAAL SUTER 38'36.702 4 laps
  72 Yuki TAKAHASHI MORIWAKI 35'17.549 5 laps
  44 Pol ESPARGARO FTR 35'40.497 5 laps
  9 Kenny NOYES FTR 36'36.221 5 laps
  19 Xavier SIMEON TECH 3 33'46.670 6 laps
  36 Mika KALLIO SUTER 25'21.587 11 laps
  80 Axel PONS PONS KALEX 13'45.678 17 laps
  14 Ratthapark WILAIROT FTR 9'55.846 19 laps
  53 Valentin DEBISE FTR 10'05.005 19 laps
  64 Santiago HERNANDEZ FTR 6'04.528 21 laps
  63 Mike DI MEGLIO TECH 3 3'56.902 22 laps
  16 Jules CLUZEL SUTER 4'04.865 22 laps


Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Finally a good race and the first podium of the season from Kenan; he made us proud in Turkey, I'm very happy for him :)
The lead battle was very exciting till the end, great win by Marc Marquez, also up to 2nd in the Championship now.
Congratulations also to Bradley Smith, Anthony West and Alex de Angelis, poor Yuki Takahashi.
What happened to Stefan Bradl, far from the front before he fell, did he make a wrong tire choice?

Sofuoglu got his qualifying of the season in 7th.
The 3 Tech3 got their best qualifying with Smith, Di Meglio and Simeon in the top15!
West got by far his best qualifying of the season with the 20th spot on the grid.

These facts made me happy but the race was even better!

Sofuoglu had an aggressive race, countless overtakings and very good 2nd place, sticking with the 2010 chassis does him good!
Di Meglio had his best start of the season, riding with the front runners but was probably a bit too hot...but it's never too late to start getting some good results, it will come soon.
Smith had a solid race, 2 podiums in a row is a difficult feature in Moto2.

And then Westie...that feels so good, he deserves it so much.
Stuck with one of the poorer teams, first they bought a FTR for Neukirchner but made him stick with the MZ chassis, then had him to race with 3 different bikes since the season started...good on you Westie, show them that you're way better than you can show with this bike!!!

No luck for Bradl, with Marquez now 2nd and Smith 4th in the championship it's gonna get interesting. Especially if Sofuoglu sticks around them during the races from now on.

Top6 for Pasini equaling his best result in the category.

rider Michael Van Der Mark ended the race in 22nd position, 3 seconds away from Kev Coghlan and 20 seconds from Morales.
Considering he never rode a full season in GP and his best result is a 18th place in 125, I guess that it's a decent result.

It's very significant that Ten Kate has a wild card in Moto2, it could fuel the war between Infront and the Dorna, are they considering an entry for 2013 besides an involvement in Moto3?