2014 Qatar Moto3 Race Result: A Pair Of Firsts

Results Below:

Australian Jack Miller won his first-ever Grand Prix Sunday after race-leader Alex Marquez ran wide on a thrilling final lap Sunday at the Losail Circuit in Qatar.

Marquez, who initially was relegated to fourth after his mistake, clawed back into second place before the checkered flag. Efren Vazquez finished third after a race long battle with Alex Rins who also made a mistake late, dropping from second to fifth. Miguel Olivera managed fourth place after a race-long battle with Rins who came in fifth.

Miller's win at the 2014 season's first race also marks his first-ever podium in Moto3.

At the outset, Miller and Marquez moved to the front early and began to pull a slight gap, occassionally swapping the lead but seemingly content to work together and keep the field at bay. Pole-sitter Alex Rins had a miserable start and dropped as low as tenth early on. But as Marquez and Miller extended their lead, Rins pushed through the field, climbing to third place with 13 laps to go.

But Rins couldn't shake Efren Vazquez, the man he passed for third. As the two battled, Miguel Olivera closed the gap and made it a three-way fight. At the front, Marquez began to open a slight gap on Miller. Rins closed on Miller with two laps to go.

But then Miller began rapidly gaining on Marquez. By the final lap, Miller was glued to Marquez's tail. When Marquez, under pressure, ran wide on the final lap, Miller pounced. Rabat too ran wide and Marquez fought back to second. Vazquez took third as a cluster of racers crossed the line.


Pos. No. Rider Bike Time / Diff.
1 8 Jack MILLER KTM 38'05.810
2 12 Alex MARQUEZ Honda 0.233
3 7 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda 0.28
4 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra 0.295
5 42 Alex RINS Honda 0.369
6 84 Jakub KORNFEIL KTM 0.586
7 10 Alexis MASBOU Honda 2.109
8 32 Isaac VIÑALES KTM 2.161
9 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI KTM 8.153
10 21 Francesco BAGNAIA KTM 8.173
11 17 John MCPHEE Honda 8.195
12 5 Romano FENATI KTM 8.219
13 52 Danny KENT Husqvarna 11.269
14 98 Karel HANIKA KTM 11.292
15 41 Brad BINDER Mahindra 11.322
16 33 Enea BASTIANINI KTM 22.159
17 11 Livio LOI Kalex KTM 22.202
18 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN Honda 36.686
19 9 Scott DEROUE Kalex KTM 36.691
20 65 Philipp OETTL Kalex KTM 36.755
21 19 Alessandro TONUCCI Mahindra 37.858
22 43 Luca GRÜNWALD Kalex KTM 37.876
23 55 Andrea LOCATELLI Mahindra 45.501
24 22 Ana CARRASCO Kalex KTM 45.65
25 51 Bryan SCHOUTEN Mahindra +1'08.694
26 31 Niklas AJO Husqvarna 1 Lap


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Good on the lad. Pity Honda hadn't given him the bike he needed last year, in which case this would not have been his maiden win. Glad he found a good seat at KTM.

Disappointed by Fenati and Kent, these guys have shown a lot in the past but they're going to get forgotten about if they don't up their game