2015 Assen Moto2 Race Result: Two-Thirds Distance

The Moto2 race was red flagged before the first lap was completed as Luis Salom clipped the back of Ant West's bike and tumbled off track, cracking its right crankcase, spilling oil all over the place and ignominiously catching fire. The restart would be 16 laps.

Jonas Folger, lurching to second place on the first start, took advantage of Johann Zarco's wheelie at the lights to push through to the immediate lead from the second row. Tito Rabat, Xavier Simeon and Johann Zarco followed but it didn't take long for Zarco to take third place and latch onto the back of Rabat and then pass him while Folger had built almost a second of lead. Rabat took second place back a lap later, losing it briefly to Zarco, but making the third pass stick, both riders leaning on each other as they vied for position. Simeon made hay while the sun shone, taking third place from Zarco in the gap made by Rabat.

Folger's lead extended to over a second, but Rabat, briefly freed from a hounding Zarco by Simeon, had room to charge down the leader.

In one lap, Rabat closed the 1.1 second gap, setting the lap record with a lap ominously 0.91 quicker than Folger's. Lowes caught Zarco and pair set about catching the leading duo.

A lap later, going into the chicane, Rabat took the lead. A lap later, Zarco passed Folger for second and a lap after that, Lowes took third place from the German. The front three, the top three in the championship, then had the podium order to settle as they cleared off from the rest, leaving Folger to the charging second group of Alex Rins, Thomas Luthi and Xavier Simeon.

Two laps from the end, Zarco squeezed past Rabat, as Lowes struggled with the pace, settling for third as Zarco broke away a few tenths at the lead.

Johann Zarco won by three quarters of a second and celebrated with a back flip off a barrier, having parked near as many photographers as he could find. Tito Rabat took a comfortable second while Sam Lowes settled for a safe third almost two seconds clear of Alex Rins in fourth. Jonas Folger was passed, one by one, by the entire second group and finished in seventh, in spite of a convincing lead at the start.

Zarco extended his lead as the top three finished in the same order as their championship standings.


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Gap
1 5 Johann ZARCO Kalex 26'13.410
2 1 Tito RABAT Kalex +0.757
3 22 Sam LOWES Speed Up +2.080
4 40 Alex RINS Kalex +3.738
5 12 Thomas LUTHI Kalex +4.530
6 19 Xavier SIMEON Kalex +5.045
7 94 Jonas FOLGER Kalex +6.140
8 36 Mika KALLIO Kalex +8.105
9 73 Alex MARQUEZ Kalex +8.376
10 3 Simone CORSI Kalex +9.670
11 60 Julian SIMON Speed Up +11.749
12 77 Dominique AEGERTER Kalex +17.537
13 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex +18.104
14 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER Kalex +20.468
15 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex +20.894
16 25 Azlan SHAH Kalex +22.405
17 11 Sandro CORTESE Kalex +22.930
18 23 Marcel SCHROTTER Tech 3 +25.663
19 21 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex +30.931
20 70 Robin MULHAUSER Kalex +35.014
21 2 Jesko RAFFIN Kalex +35.289
22 49 Axel PONS Kalex +44.794
23 10 Thitipong WAROKORN Kalex +47.633
24 15 Ratthapark WILAIROT Suter +54.049
25 13 Jasper IWEMA Speed Up +1'10.079
    Not Classified    
  7 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Kalex 5 Laps
  95 Anthony WEST Speed Up 5 Laps
  96 Louis ROSSI Tech 3 7 Laps
  88 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 11 Laps
    Not Finished 1st Lap    
  66 Florian ALT Suter 0 Lap
    Not Starting    
  39 Luis SALOM Kalex 0 Lap


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top