2015 Indianapolis Moto3 Race Result: A Complete Reshuffling Of The Deck

Results Below:

Livio Loi won his first-ever Grand Prix by gambling on dry tires in the damp-but-drying conditions Sunday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  Loi, one of a handful of riders to make the late switch and start the race at the back of the grid, won the contest by 38 seconds over second place rider John McPhee. Philipp Oetttl grabbed the final podium spot making it a clean sweep of riders who had never been on a world championship podium before.

All three riders made the switch to full slicks just before the race began. Championship leader Danny Kent -- who like many of the riders at the front, ran a handful of laps in the disintegrating wet tires before pitting for a tire switch -- finished the race out of the points in 21st place. 

The race start was uncertain from the beginning when rain before the race forcing a wet-race declaration. Because it was declared a wet race, many riders stayed with wet tires. But a handful of riders, including the eventual race leader, made the late switch to dry tired and were forced to start at the back of the grid. 

Loi grabbed the lead on the fourth lap and began opening a gap immediately.

Romano Fenati took fourth and climbing into third in the championship.  And Isaac Vinales rounded out the top five. Enea Bastianini (6th) pulled 10 points from Kent's champioship lead to reduce the gap to 56 points. 

Pos. No. Rider Bike Time / Diff. 
1 11 Livio LOI Honda 40'50.747
2 17 John MCPHEE Honda 38.86
3 65 Philipp OETTL KTM 57.781
4 5 Romano FENATI KTM +1'15.296
5 32 Isaac VIÑALES KTM +1'19.814
6 33 Enea BASTIANINI Honda +1'23.801
7 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI Honda +1'24.586
8 41 Brad BINDER KTM +1'24.659
9 9 Jorge NAVARRO Honda +1'25.292
10 88 Jorge MARTIN Mahindra +1'35.105
11 20 Fabio QUARTARARO Honda +1'35.784
12 98 Karel HANIKA KTM +1'35.801
13 55 Andrea LOCATELLI Honda +1'35.913
14 95 Jules DANILO Honda +1'36.059
15 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA KTM +1'43.203
16 19 Alessandro TONUCCI Mahindra +1'49.006
17 2 Remy GARDNER Mahindra 1 Lap
18 58 Juanfran GUEVARA Mahindra 1 Lap
19 29 Stefano MANZI Mahindra 1 Lap
20 16 Andrea MIGNO KTM 1 Lap
21 52 Danny KENT Honda 1 Lap
22 84 Jakub KORNFEIL KTM 1 Lap
23 24 Tatsuki SUZUKI Mahindra 1 Lap
24 6 Maria HERRERA Husqvarna 1 Lap
25 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN KTM 1 Lap
26 76 Hiroki ONO Honda 1 Lap
27 40 Darryn BINDER Mahindra 1 Lap
28 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Husqvarna 1 Lap
29 12 Matteo FERRARI Mahindra 1 Lap
30 31 Niklas AJO KTM 1 Lap
31 91 Gabriel RODRIGO KTM 1 Lap
32 10 Alexis MASBOU Honda 1 Lap
Not Classified    
  7 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda 8 Laps
  21 Francesco BAGNAIA Mahindra 12 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Loi started from the grid as he had made the switch in time to avoid the pit lane start.
To see his name move up the standings from P26 was a thing of wonder.

I was a little late to turn on the tele and saw n1 Loi with a huge gap to Mcphee and could only think "WTF ???, what did I miss"

anyway, another first for us Belgians : 2 different riders winning in the same year.

The commentators on MotoGP said the Fenati came in for a tire swap, but I don't see how he could end up so high in the order if so. I think he must have started out with slicks, but
maybe they didn't get his suspension adjusted for slicks and that was why he was gesticulating so much when he came into the pits -- fix my suspension!! Anyone know the story on this?

From what I saw it seemed like Fenati had the "I told you guys to change it earlier!" expression as if the team made the call not to change to slicks...But yeah, how he end up in 4th coming in after the others like Kent and Oliveria is a bit puzzling.

From what I have read, Fantai's team made quick work of changing tires so he was able to re-enter the race in a fairly high position.
Kent on the other hand, complained it took his team way too long to change tires.