2015 Jerez World Superbike Race One Results: A Title Decided?

Jonathan Rea needs a top ten place to secure the title, but can he manage that in the cool weather without his favourite SC2 front tyre?

Tom Sykes led from pole position, quickly building a gap from Jonathan Rea and Chaz Davies, with Niccolo Canepa, Leon Haslam and Michael van der Mark close behind. Jordi Torres misjudged his first turn and ended up at the back if the pack, ruining his race.

Sykes again demonstrated his traditional early form, building a one second gap in a couple of laps and Rea in second also stretched a second lead over Davies in third. Nicole Canepa crashed out from fourth place but remounted ahead of last place.

Chaz Davies started closing on Jonathan Rea as Tom Sykes had a two second gap six laps in, bringing Leon Haslam and Michael van der Mark with him. With Davies pressuring him, Rea started showing he had problems, not having as much grip into corners. His Kawasaki masked these problems when he was on his own and could ride around the issue, but when he had to ride defensively, he was missing apexes on entry.

Davies passed Rea on the sixth lap as Rea tried to ride around his problems and set after Sykes, hoping his tyre would start wearing out and let him close the gap. Rea was joined by Michael van der Mark and Leon Haslam, fighting their own battle to see who would get to have a go at Rea.

On lap ten, van der Mark passed Haslam and, five turns later he passed Rea for third place. Rea then had Haslam snapping at his heels with Michele Pirro a second back seeing an opportunity.

Jonathan Rea lost the front but saved it without losing any time and maintained his slight lead over Leon Haslam by riding defensively and having the power to respond to every passing attempt out of the corners. Leon's advantage was in corner entry and speed through the corner, but he couldn't use this to pass Rea.

On the one occasion Haslam passed Rea, Rea powered out of the pass and led into the next corner.

As the laps ran out, Tom Sykes didn't lose any tyre grip and managed his three second lead over Chaz Davies who in turn didn't let Michael van der Mark make any headway.

Tom Sykes won convincingly, with Davies in second place and van der Mark, at the track he claimed his World Supersport championship last year, took the last podium spot.

Jonathan Rea finished in fourth place, holding Leon Haslam off, and took the world title with his worst result of the year.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap Best Lap Speed
1 66 T. SYKES Kawasaki ZX-10R   1'41.159 272,0
2 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale R 2.865 1'41.972 272,0
3 60 M. VD MARK Honda CBR1000RR SP 6.665 1'41.836 275,5
4 65 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10R 9.059 1'41.136 275,5
5 91 L. HASLAM Aprilia RSV4 RF 9.318 1'41.823 275,5
6 55 M. PIRRO Ducati Panigale R 10.466 1'41.797 273,4
7 22 A. LOWES Suzuki GSX-R1000 15.945 1'42.004 272,7
8 15 M. BAIOCCO Ducati Panigale R 18.020 1'42.778 273,4
9 2 L. CAMIER MV Agusta F4 RR 18.654 1'42.770 271,4
10 1 S. GUINTOLI Honda CBR1000RR SP 19.510 1'42.926 272,7
11 44 D. SALOM Kawasaki ZX-10R 24.441 1'42.791 271,4
12 81 J. TORRES Aprilia RSV4 RF 29.247 1'42.326 276,9
13 40 R. RAMOS Kawasaki ZX-10R 35.768 1'42.973 268,7
14 36 L. MERCADO Ducati Panigale R 37.933 1'42.661 272,0
15 86 A. BADOVINI BMW S1000 RR 40.147 1'43.176 274,8
16 14 R. DE PUNIET Suzuki GSX-R1000 40.275 1'43.610 270,7
17 59 N. CANEPA Ducati Panigale R 45.846 1'41.913 271,4
18 75 G. RIZMAYER BMW S1000 RR 1'15.451 1'45.049 264,7
19 48 A. PHILLIS Kawasaki ZX-10R 1 Lap 1'46.559 261,5
20 10 I. TOTH BMW S1000 RR 1 Lap 1'48.314 266,7
21 23 C. PONSSON Kawasaki ZX-10R 3 Laps 1'44.514 269,3
22 45 G. VIZZIELLO Kawasaki ZX-10R 3 Laps 1'45.009 257,8


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top