2016 Aragon World Supersport Race Results: Thirty Five Into One Won't Go

Sixteen laps at Motorland Aragon and the World Supersport class is joined by the European Supersport class for the first time.

Kenan Sofuoglu got a good start from pole position, but PJ Jacobsen took advantage of Sofuoglu going into the first turn slightly too fast and made a pass that sent him too fast in turn two. Sofuoglu took the lead as Jacobsen crashed out, the American bailing out safely while his bike destroyed itself tumbling through the scenery. Behind this, three riders crashed into the first turn, unsurprising when thirty-five riders, down from thirty-six as Roberto Rolfo broke down on the starting grid, compete in the same race. Randy Krummenacher, championship leader, was behind his teammate in second place with Jules Cluzel leading Alex Baldolini, Christian Gamarino and ESS rider Alessandro Zaccone.

On the second lap, Krummenacher tried a pass on Sofuoglu, but it didn't work and the world champion kept the lead. Jules Cluzel took fourth place on lap two and Baldolini tried to follow him but had to stay in fourth, given some breathing space as Lorenzo Zanetti had parked his bike with a mechanical problem earlier.

Sofuoglu increased his lead.

Cluzel and Krummenacher maintained their positions with Krummenacher staying behind Cluzel on the long fast back straight on lap five.

Sofuoglu increased his lead.

At the end of lap six, Jules Cluzel looked to be having trouble turning his bike and at the end of the straight, there was a gap large enough for both Randy Krummenacher and Alex Baldolini to pass, but as Baldolini slid past, it was evident it was an assisted slide and his engine blew up as his engine hit the limiter and he pulled out of the race safely, returning the third place to Cluzel.

Sofuoglu increased his lead.

The battle behind Krummenacher and Cluzel was among six riders led by Zulfahmi Khairuddin, but on lap seven ESS rider Axel Bassani passed him and dragged the mob up to the back of Jules Cluzel. Cluzel couldn't keep up with Krummenacher and he was quickly joined by the now five-way battle for fourth place.

Sofuoglu increased his lead.

Jules Cluzel tried to fend off the fighters behind him but was still struggling with being able to corner as tightly as he wanted and one wide turn let Bassani, Nico Terol and Alessandro Zaccone force their way past and put Cluzel chez les fauves.

Sofuoglu maintained his lead.

With Randy Krummenacher almost two seconds clear of the six-way battle for third place, he set about trying to slice into Sofuoglu's two second lead but with six laps left, and Sofuoglu in Mechanical Turk mode, this would be an impossible task.

As Nico Terol broke away in third place, Jules Cluzel would pass first Bassani then Zaccone and let them fight for Italian honours between each other, allowing him to concentrate on keeping out of trouble and making sure his troubles wouldn't lose him fourth place.

Kenan Sofuoglu took his first victory of the year convincingly ahead of his teammate Randy Krummenacher. Nico Terol, 2011 Moto3 world champion, took third place in front of his home crowd and Jules Cluzel made the most out of a woe-filled race in fourth place.

Alessandro Zaccone was the first ESS winner with eleven points.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap Best Lap Speed
1 1 K. SOFUOGLU Kawasaki ZX-6R   1'55.344 260,2
2 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.486 1'55.789 270,7
3 88 N. TEROL MV Agusta F3 675 2.943 1'55.645 268,7
4 16 J. CLUZEL MV Agusta F3 675 3.838 1'55.809 272,7
5 61 A. ZACCONE Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.106 1'55.721 270,0
6 47 A. BASSANI Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.177 1'55.545 274,1
7 64 F. CARICASULO Honda CBR600RR 9.059 1'55.652 273,4
8 63 Z. KHAIRUDDIN Kawasaki ZX-6R 11.036 1'55.399 270,0
9 19 K. WAHR Honda CBR600RR 18.095 1'56.350 260,9
10 11 C. GAMARINO Kawasaki ZX-6R 18.150 1'56.123 266,7
11 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR 18.155 1'56.157 264,7
12 77 K. RYDE Yamaha YZF R6 18.552 1'56.493 270,7
13 55 I. MIKHALCHIK Kawasaki ZX-6R 18.815 1'56.152 264,7
14 69 O. JEZEK Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.984 1'56.574 262,8
15 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 40.449 1'57.205 264,7
16 78 H. OKUBO Honda CBR600RR 53.750 1'57.993 263,4
17 119 J. CHROBAK MV Agusta F3 675 57.137 1'58.810 257,1
18 84 L. CRESSON Kawasaki ZX-6R 59.108 1'58.456 257,8
19 6 D. STIRPE Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'08.011 1'57.422 261,5
20 12 C. GOBBI Yamaha YZF R6 1'10.494 1'58.228 262,1
21 83 L. EPIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'30.327 2'00.104 256,5
22 50 B. ORTT Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap 2'01.300 250,0
RET 35 S. HILL Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap    
RET 25 A. BALDOLINI MV Agusta F3 675 10 Laps    
RET 87 L. ZANETTI MV Agusta F3 675 14 Laps    
RET 7 A. LICCIARDI Kawasaki ZX-6R 14 Laps    
RET 23 C. TANGRE Suzuki GSX-R600 14 Laps    
RET 96 J. ORELLANA Honda CBR600RR 15 Laps    
RET 17 H. KUNIKAWA Kawasaki ZX-6R      
RET 4 G. REA MV Agusta F3 675      
RET 2 P. JACOBSEN Honda CBR600RR      
RET 161 A. IVANOV Yamaha YZF R6      
RET 41 A. WAGNER MV Agusta F3 675      
RET 44 R. ROLFO MV Agusta F3 675      


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top