2016 Phillip Island Moto3 Race: Two Races, Same Winner

Brad Binder won his sixth race of the year in a red-flagged contest Sunday that ended with a 10-lap sprint and another dominant win for the South African World Champion. Binder jumped to the front of the pack in the restart and didn't look back, building a seven-second lead by the end of the race. Andrea Locatelli took a lonely second place, three seconds in front of a 16-rider scrum fighting for third.

Aron Canet was the winner of that scrum, using the slipstream in the long finishing straight to slngshot past Darryn Binder (4th), younger brother of the winner. For Canet, a Moto3 rookie, it was his first career podium. Livio Loi, ninth in the warm-up, climbed into fifth in the pack that was fighting for third at the end of the race. Jorge Martin (6th) crossed the line just in front of Marcos Ramirez. 

Hiroki Ono, who didn't claim a point in his home race last week at Motegi, took eighth, a wheel length in front of Jules Danilo (9th). Bo Bendsneyder completed the top 10.

Crashes marred the start of the contest. Joan Mir and Nicolo Bulega went down at Lukey Heights. Then five laps in, John McPhee highsided and took out several riders including Jorge Navarro and Enea Bastianini.

The race was red-flagged and McPhee was taken to the medical center for treatment. The race was restarted as a 10-lap sprint. The stoppage gaver several riders a chance to change their bikes including Canet who crashed and remounted early on. Binder immediately went to the front, followed by Locatelli. The pair immediately gapped the field. And then Binder began pulling away and wasn't threatened for the rest of the contest.


Pos. No. Rider Bike Time / Diff.
1 41 Brad BINDER KTM 16'22.009
2 55 Andrea LOCATELLI KTM 5.937
3 44 Aron CANET Honda 9.594
4 40 Darryn BINDER Mahindra 9.642
5 11 Livio LOI Honda 9.68
6 88 Jorge MARTIN Mahindra 9.75
7 42 Marcos RAMIREZ Mahindra 9.996
8 76 Hiroki ONO Honda 10.115
9 95 Jules DANILO Honda 10.142
10 64 Bo BENDSNEYDER KTM 10.358
11 7 Adam NORRODIN Honda 10.447
12 20 Fabio QUARTARARO KTM 10.569
13 24 Tatsuki SUZUKI Mahindra 10.682
14 65 Philipp OETTL KTM 10.979
15 6 Maria HERRERA KTM 13.763
16 12 Albert ARENAS Peugeot 13.821
17 77 Lorenzo PETRARCA Mahindra 28.297
18 3 Fabio SPIRANELLI Mahindra 42.036
19 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA KTM 50.454
20 14 Matt BARTON FTR Honda +1'23.446


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


accidents were very brutal. Glad no one was injured too badly, although I read McPhee will miss Sepang.