2017 Imola World Supersport Race Restart Results: Eleven Lap Sprint

The World Supersport restarted race would be eleven laps and Federico Caricasulo would start from fourth place on the grid, albeit with a ride through penalty still hanging around his neck. 

Lucas Mahias, for the third time today, hit turn one first, ahead of PJ Jacobsen, Christian Gamarino and Kenan Sofuoglu. Sofuoglu, however, didn't like fourth place and he made quick work of Gamarino to take third place and further round the lap, he took second place cleanly from Jacobsen. 

On the second lap, Sofuoglu set the fastest lap to close up on Mahias and at the end of lap three, the reigning world champion slid sideways on opposite lock into Variante Bassa, the last chicane, squeezing past the championship leader to take first place. Sofuoglu and Mahias had a gap of almost a second from PJ Jacobsen, but he closed up over the next lap and the front three had a lead of over two seconds from Christian Gamarino and Kyle Smith, contesting fourth place. Smith passed Gamarino, settling that scrap, and was set upon by Sheridan Morais, a battle that would carry on to the end of the race.

Niki Tuuli crashed on lap six, his bike riding over his boot and ending strewn in middle of the track, but the Italian marshalls have had plenty of practice with fallen riders and bikes all weekend and cleared the track quickly and got Tuuli to the medical centre without incident.

On lap eight, PJ Jacobsen set the fastest lap at the back of the front three, Kenan Sofuoglu set it on laps nine and ten, only to have it taken from him tenths later by Lucas Mahias. With all three riders on top form, nobody could find a place to pass and Kenan Sofuoglu blitzed the chicane at the end to win his fourtieth career World Supersport race.

Mahias's second place extended his championship lead to twenty seven points from Sheridan Morais who won his battle for fourth place with Kyle Smith in fifth. PJ Jacobsen's second place promotes him past Roberto Rolfo to third place and Kenan Sofuoglu's win, his second result of the year, raised him from ninth to fourth place, another place taken from Rolfo.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 K. SOFUOGLU Kawasaki ZX-6R  
2 144 L. MAHIAS Yamaha YZF R6 0.438
3 99 P. JACOBSEN MV Agusta F3 675 1.573
4 32 S. MORAIS Yamaha YZF R6 8.405
5 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR 9.181
6 16 J. CLUZEL Honda CBR600RR 9.474
7 11 C. GAMARINO Honda CBR600RR 12.979
8 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 1'52.840 250,2
9 78 H. OKUBO Honda CBR600RR 16.966
10 61 A. ZACCONE MV Agusta F3 675 17.957
11 13 A. WEST Yamaha YZF R6 19.390
12 14 J. KENNEDY Triumph Daytona 675 21.035
13 81 L. STAPLEFORD Triumph Daytona 675 23.545
14 65 M. CANDUCCI Kawasaki ZX-6R 25.494
15 4 G. REA Kawasaki ZX-6R 28.574
16 38 H. SOOMER Honda CBR600RR 29.233
17 47 R. HARTOG Kawasaki ZX-6R 29.736
18 70 R. MULHAUSER Honda CBR600RR 45.845
19 83 L. EPIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 46.057
20 92 H. KUNIKAWA Honda CBR600RR 52.633
21 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 52.961
22 73 J. CRETARO Suzuki GSX-R600 53.204
21 56 P. SEBESTYÉN Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'01.255
24 48 G. SCARCELLA Honda CBR600RR 1'26.959
RET 26 K. WATANABE Kawasaki ZX-6R 3 Laps
RET 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 3 Laps
RET 66 N. TUULI Yamaha YZF R6 6 Laps
RET 25 A. BALDOLINI MV Agusta F3 675 7 Laps
RET 52 M. MALONE Kawasaki ZX-6R 8 Laps
RET 77 K. RYDE Kawasaki ZX-6R  
RET 122 D. CORRADI Kawasaki ZX-6R  
RET 44 R. ROLFO MV Agusta F3 675  
RET 63 Z. KHAIRUDDIN Kawasaki ZX-6R  
RET 7 D. PIZZOLI MV Agusta F3 675  


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top