2018 Chang Thailand World Supersport Race Results: Lap Records Set And Reset

World Supersport was a seventeen lap race at the Chang International Circuit in Buriram, Thailand, on a warm and humid Sunday. The lap record was broken at least six times.

Jules Cluzel got the jump on pole-man Lucas Mahias but Mahias took the lead back, holding it until Cluzel dragged Federico Caricasulo behind him through turn three, pushing Mahias back to third place ahead of Sandro Cortese and Randy Krummenacher. Lap two, Krummenacher had passed Cortese and had almost a second gap from fifth place, with the front four breaking away from everyone else as Jules Cluzel set the fastest lap. A lap later, Mahias set the lap record as he took second place back off Caricasulo at turn eight. 

Two laps later, Mahias broke the lap record again as Krummenacher dropped from the front group, falling back to Cortese who had over a second from the east Asian battle for sixth place between Ratthapong Wilairot, Hikari Okubo and Thitipong Warokorn with Ant West a further second behind them. Jules Cluzel broke the lap record only for Lucas Mahias to take the honour from him in his wake. 

Another two laps and Krummenacher joined in the lap record fun, rejoining the front three, bringing Sandro Cortese with him as his guest, to make a group of five riders at the front. 

Randy Krummenacher set the lap record again on lap eight, while Jules Cluzel went too deep into the tight turn twelve, giving the lead to Lucas Mahias. Another couple of quick laps and Cluzel put himself back in contention, taking the lead from Mahias into turn three. A lap later, Krummenacher took third place at turn three, resetting the lap record in the process and looking for a way past Mahias. 

Lap thirteen was unlucky for Jules Cluzel, tucking the front into turn five while leading the race, an innocent looking crash that handed Randy Krummenacher the lead, having just taken third from Lucas Mahias at turn three. 

Over the remaining laps, Randy Krummenacher and Lucas Mahias split from the duelling blue bikes of Federico Caricasulo and Sandro Cortese, the pair swapping places repeatedly while fighting for third place, and Mahias couldn't seem to catch up enough at the end of straights to a passing place, apart from a few test passes at turn twelve. 

Last lap, last corner, and that was indeed where Lucas Mahias, lacking a little in top speed down the straights, had to make his attempt to pass Randy Krummenacher. Mahias went inside Krummenacher, both riders on the limit, at the tight right-handed turn twelve, and, as his front lost a little grip, Mahias compensated by adding a bit of power to lift the front and save the invisible slide. This pushed the rear out, giving Krummenacher enough of a gap to keep his smoother line going. 

The two bikes made contact, hard, as Krummenacher's line met Mahias's line, with the Yamaha on the outside puncturing Krummenacher's yellow fairing with Mahias's right handlebar. This didn't slow either bike down and Randy Krummenacher crossed the line ahead of Lucas Mahias while Federico Caricasulo held his cool for the last place on the podium as Sandro Cortese missed turn twelve and had to settle for fourth place. Local wildcard rider Thitipong Warokorn was a lonely fifth place, two seconds clear of Ant West and Rafaele de Rosa. 

Randy Krummenacher and Lucas Mahias share the top spot in the championship standings while third place is shared between Federico Caricasulo and Sandro Cortese. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 144 L. MAHIAS Yamaha YZF R6 0.048
3 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 1.213
4 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R6 2.917
5 99 T. WAROKORN Kawasaki ZX-6R 9.100
6 13 A. WEST Kawasaki ZX-6R 11.426
7 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 11.583
8 5 R. WILAIROT Yamaha YZF R6 12.188
9 66 N. TUULI Honda CBR600RR 19.454
10 81 L. STAPLEFORD Triumph Daytona 675 20.675
11 36 T. GRADINGER Yamaha YZF R6 21.027
12 4 J. KENNEDY Triumph Daytona 675 22.087
13 24 D. KRAISART Yamaha YZF R6 23.787
14 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 1'38.681 270,0
15 86 A. BADOVINI MV Agusta F3 675 24.206
16 25 A. KAMARUZAMAN Kawasaki ZX-6R 31.540
17 38 H. SOOMER Honda CBR600RR 39.533
18 94 M. DI MEGLIO Yamaha YZF R6 39.567
19 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 40.101
20 96 A. IRWIN Honda CBR600RR 51.236
21 74 J. VAN SIKKELERUS Honda CBR600RR 54.428
22 29 T. COLLINS Kawasaki ZX-6R 56.055
RET 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps
RET 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR 12 Laps
RET 83 L. EPIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 14 Laps
RET 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 15 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top