2018 Brno World Supersport Race Results: Still A Tight Championship

Sixteen laps of Brno from 600cc bikes on road-legal tyres, with the tight World Supersport championship fight the way it is, it was always going to be fun.

Jules Cluzel got away from third place to lead into the first corner, ahead of Randy Krummenacher, Sandro Cortese, Raffaele De Rosa, Federico Caricasulo and Lucas Mahias, otherwise known as the top six of the championship. Cortese and Krummenacher swapped places on the first lap, and on the second, he went wide at one corner and lost a couple of places. Caricasulo crashed out at turn eight while his teammate Lucas Mahias set the fastest lap with a 2'03.886. 

Three laps in, the front four of Jules Cluzel, Sandro Cortese, Raffaele De Rosa and Lucas Mahias had a gap from Randy Krummenacher who was maintaining the pace of the leaders and slowly breaking free from Thomas Gradinger and Sheridan Morais. Another lap down and the gap was evident and was the same size as his gap from Mahias. At the front, Cortese took the lead at turn ten, but Cluzel snapped back and the pair swapped places a few times until Cluzel took the lead back definitively at the start of lap five. 

Sheridan Morais's run forward ended when he lost nineteen places in an off-track excursion at the punishing turn five. A lap later, the leading trio finally shook off Lucas Mahias as they charged past the yellow flags. Krummenacher's gap to Mahias was now the same as Gradinger's to him as everyone not in the top three dropped off the pace, but a few laps later, Krummenacher started matching the low 2'04 laps of the leaders, gaining ground on Mahias but without a chance of catching the podium fight. 

Four laps from the end, Krummenacher was closing on Mahias as the leading pair were strapped to each other for a fight and Raffaele De Rosa finally hit his limit and reluctantly let the leaders escape. Sandro Cortese in second place was visibly quicker than Jules Cluzel in the lead, but Cluzel had every angle covered defensively. 

As Cluzel's Yamaha twitched and slid around tight defensive lines, Sandro Cortese's Yamaha was a completely different bike, smooth on sweeping lines carrying plenty of speed right up to the point there was a Frenchman's bike in the way. Cortese gently slid both tyres while Cluzel just hammered the rear into submission, with nowhere near the pace of the German behind him, but a wide profile. 

On the last lap, Cortese had to have a go, taking the lead briefly on a sweeping line that allowed Cluzel back under him, and at turn four, Cortese nipped to the inside but Cluzel closed the door, forcing Cortese to sit up on the apex, the pair nearly coming a cropper as they all but touched. Cortese was on the utter limit and all Cluzel had to do to concede victory was leave a small gap or make a tiny mistake, but he did neither and the pair bolted down the finish straight with Jules Cluzel taking the flag ahead of Sandro Cortese. 

Rafaelle De Rosa came in a lonely third ahead of Lucas Mahias. Mahias managed to hold off Randy Krummenacher for fourth place and Thomas Gradinger came in a lonely sixth, with seconds of tarmac ahead and behind. 

Jules Cluzel's win ahead of Sandro Cortese closed the gap between the two in the championship fight, with Cortese's lead sliced to just two points. Randy Krummenacher dropped back to fifteen points behind CLuzel and only two points clear of Lucas Mahias in fourth place. Federico Caricasulo's DNF with Raffaele De Rosa taking the last podium spot means he relinquished fifth place to the MV Agusta rider. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6  
2 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R6 0.148
3 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 3.368
4 144 L. MAHIAS Yamaha YZF R6 6.735
5 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 7.764
6 36 T. GRADINGER Yamaha YZF R6 18.651
7 13 A. WEST Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.773
8 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR 22.576
9 22 E. LAHTI Suzuki GSX-R600 30.575
10 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 31.323
11 47 R. HARTOG Kawasaki ZX-6R 33.589
12 38 H. SOOMER Honda CBR600RR 34.857
13 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 36.627
14 15 A. COPPOLA Yamaha YZF R6 40.124
15 19 A. BALDOLINI Honda CBR600RR 41.687
16 65 M. CANDUCCI Honda CBR600RR 44.774
17 96 A. IRWIN Honda CBR600RR 46.924
18 81 L. STAPLEFORD Yamaha YZF R6 46.958
19 23 M. ENDERLEIN Yamaha YZF R6 47.154
20 77 W. TESSELS Kawasaki ZX-6R 50.844
21 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 58.652
22 44 L. MORCIANO Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'05.705
23 34 J. ITURRIOZ Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'10.285
24 14 M. CHALUPA Yamaha YZF R6 1'39.058
25 69 P. COPPA Honda CBR600RR 2'13.032
RET 48 G. MOLNAR Honda CBR600RR 5 Laps
RET 32 S. MORAIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 11 Laps
RET 35 S. HILL Triumph Daytona 675 11 Laps
RET 86 A. BADOVINI MV Agusta F3 675 13 Laps
RET 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 15 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top