2018 Misano World Supersport Race Results: Race Decided Early

World Supersport opened with a couple of riders being sent to the back for being too slow on the sighting lap, including Sheridan Morais who suffered a technical difficulty.

Jules Cluzel led Federico Caricasulo with habitual third-place man Raffaele De Rosa in third place. Lucas Mahias, Hikari Okubo and Randy Krummenacher made up the next three places with wildcard Stefano Valtulini in seventh place in the first sector. On the second lap, Mahias passed De Rosa, but the MV Agusta man took third back, pushing the Frenchman wide. Mahias, out on the dirtier part of the track, applied a little too much power trying to keep up with De Rosa and spat himself off his bike, unceremoniously ending his race. 

Sandro Cortese, after a messy qualifying, caught and passed Randy Krummenacher on lap three, and Raffaele De Rosa made up the gap his tussle with Mahias made and set the fastest lap catching up with Jules Cluzel and Federico Caricasulo. A lap later, Caricasulo lined up Jules Cluzel and slotted past him into turn three, and Raffaele De Rosa saw a way past Cluzel and took it. Once Caricasulo had clear track ahead of him, he increased the pace, setting the fastest lap on laps five and six, but he couldn't shake De Rosa, the pair breaking free from Jules Cluzel. Cluzel then had Sandro Cortese to deal with and Cortese wasted no time in getting past. Stefano Valtulini scrapped with Cluzel, passing him briefly, but Cluzel look back fourth place .

Once Sandro Cortese was past Jules Cluzel, he set the fastest lap to catch up with Raffaele De Rosa. Randy Krummenacher was gifted fifth place when Stefano Valtulini crashed out at turn fourteen and, at the half time mark, that was it. 

For the remaining nine laps, there were no more overtakes as everyone just settled into their places. The gaps didn't change much and Federico Caricasulo took his first win of the year, the third of his career, ahead of Raffaele De Rosa, his best ever result, and Sandro Cortese. 

Raffaele De Rosa gave us an insight into the trials and tribulations of an international racer as, after giving his post-race comments in his native Italian, Ms. Fellows reminded him he had to give them in English as well. Constant podiums allows us to see continual progress in his English. 

Caricasulo's win elevated him to fourth place, one point ahead of Lucas Mahias, in the championship while De Rosa's second place put him on equal footing to Mahias. Sandro Cortese increased his lead in the championship, as Jules Cluzel and Randy Krummenacher, second and third in the championship, both finished behind him. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6  
2 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 1.423
3 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R6 3.869
4 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 7.052
5 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 13.581
6 13 A. WEST Kawasaki ZX-6R 15.746
7 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR 16.275
8 60 L. GABELLINI Yamaha YZF R6 28.743
9 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 29.068
10 86 A. BADOVINI MV Agusta F3 675 29.522
11 42 M. BUSSOLOTTI Yamaha YZF R6 31.440
12 6 C. PEROLARI Yamaha YZF R6 31.877
13 47 R. HARTOG Kawasaki ZX-6R 32.853
14 81 L. STAPLEFORD Yamaha YZF R6 35.103
15 38 H. SOOMER Honda CBR600RR 36.900
16 63 D. STIRPE MV Agusta F3 675 44.856
18 93 R. MERCANDELLI Honda CBR600RR 44.901
19 65 M. CANDUCCI Yamaha YZF R6 45.083
20 77 W. TESSELS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'04.453
21 34 J. ITURRIOZ Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'13.352
22 74 J. VAN SIKKELERUS Honda CBR600RR 1'18.246
23 15 A. COPPOLA Yamaha YZF R6 1'27.667
RET 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 6 Laps
RET 32 S. MORAIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 7 Laps
RET 88 C. STANGE Kawasaki ZX-6R 8 Laps
RET 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 9 Laps
RET 43 S. VALTULINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 11 Laps
RET 36 T. GRADINGER Yamaha YZF R6 12 Laps
RET 35 S. HILL Triumph Daytona 675 15 Laps
RET 97 R. BODIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 17 Laps
RET 144 L. MAHIAS Yamaha YZF R6 17 Laps
RET 22 E. LAHTI Suzuki GSX-R600  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top