2019 Imola World Supersport Race Results: White Flags Out

The threat of rain loomed over the World Supersport race, but it started dry in spite of raindrops reported at sector four.

Jules Cluzel and Randy Krummenacher battled for the lead ahead of Federico Caricasulo, Massimo Roccoli, Raffaele De Rosa, Thomas Gradinger and Lucas Mahias. As they raced past the white flags warning of rain, Mahias charged through to fifth place, leaning heavily on De Rosa as he did so while Cluzel set the fastest lap. 

As the leading trio broke away at the front, with white flags now appearing at sector two, all three set fastest laps ahead of fourth-placed Lucas Mahias, Mahias having passed Massimo Roccoli and set the fastest lap on lap four as he closed the gap to the leading trio to a second. A lap later, Thomas Gradinger made an excellent pass on Roccoli and set the fastest lap as he latched onto the rear of Mahias.

In spite of the rain warnings and white flags, the race continued at a dry pace with Jules Cluzel leading Randy Krummenacher and Federico Caricasulo. Cluzel lost momentum exiting a corner, possibly missing a gear or suffering a brief electrical issue, letting both his rivals past, but not losing touch with them. 

By lap nine, in spite of rain flags now appearing in sector one, Lucas Mahias caught the leading triad brought Thomas Gradinger with him, but at the end of the lap, Jules Cluzel lost power again, exiting the chicane. Previously, this wouldn't have been a problem, but this lap, he had two fast bikes on his tail and Mahias clipped his rear tyre, separating Mahias from his Kawasaki. Thomas Gradinger's Yamaha hit Mahias's bike and he crashed out too. Cluzel ran off the track for a bit, letting a pile of riders past while Mahias, ever the endurance rider, kicked his bike back into shape and rejoined in eleventh place. An investigation was started, but would not be completed during the race.

Randy Krummenacher and Federico Caricasulo had a three second lead over Raffaele De Rosa who had inherited third place, five seconds ahead of Massimo Roccoli, Ayrton Badovini and Hikari Okubo. 

On lap thirteen, with the leading pair five seconds clear of De Rosa, Krummenacher went wide at the Tosa hairpin, letting Federico Caricasulo past and the race settled until the last lap.

On the last lap, ten seconds clear of De Rosa, Randy Krummenacher, having just set the fastest lap, started looking for away past Federico Caricasulo, but the pair were on the kind of pace where neither would find an advantage. As they reached Tosa, Caricasulo went wide, his bike having briefly switched off, letting Krummenacher take a really tight line for the lead. Caricasulo was visibly frustrated as he tried to catch his teammate, punching his bike with his left hand in a comical manner while accelerating with his right. Krummenacher fluffed the last chicane, but Caricasulo was too busy shouting at his bike to take advantage of it, not that it would have mattered because the red flags came out when Massimo Roccoli inexplicably high-sided coming out of turn seventeen, behind Okubo and Badovini. He was waving at bikes to avoid him until he was stretchered off the track and taken to the medical centre.

This year, instead of the old rule that would have gone back to the last completed lap, the results are taken from the last timing beam crossed, meaning Krummenacher held his win ahead of Federico Caricasulo and Raffaele De Rosa. Off the podium, Hikari Okubo and Ayrton Badovini finished ahead of Isaac Vinales with Jules Cluzel and Lucas Mahias recovering from their incident in seventh and eighth respectively. Caricasulo returned to Parc Fermé with a windscreen smashed in frustration and was not a happy man.

Randy Krummenacher's win extended his lead over Federico Caricasulo to twenty two points. Jules Cluzel's incident put him fifteen points behind Caricasulo and only twenty eight points clear of a rising Hikari Okubo.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 12:47'43.316
3 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 12:47'56.494
4 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:48'00.143
5 86 A. BADOVINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:48'00.577
6 32 I. VINALES Yamaha YZF R6 12:47'57.218
7 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 12:48'00.328
8 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:47'48.975
9 38 H. SOOMER Honda CBR600RR 12:47'51.700
10 56 P. SEBESTYEN Honda CBR600RR 12:47'51.959
11 95 J. DANILO Honda CBR600RR 12:47'55.047
12 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 0.225
13 11 K. SMITH Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:47'56.514
14 22 F. FULIGNI MV Agusta F3 675 12:47'31.836
15 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 12:47'32.473
16 47 R. HARTOG Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:47'43.369
17 74 J. VAN SIKKELERUS Honda CBR600RR 12:47'48.188
18 12 L. OTTAVIANI Yamaha YZF R6 12:47'50.418
19 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:47'30.608
NC 55 M. ROCCOLI Yamaha YZF R6 12:47'37.142
RET 15 A. COPPOLA Honda CBR600RR 12:41'00.074
RET 61 G. RUIU Yamaha YZF R6 12:39'10.034
RET 30 G. VAN STRAALEN Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:36'41.703
RET 36 T. GRADINGER Yamaha YZF R6 12:34'33.198
RET 34 F. MASSEI Yamaha YZF R6  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top