2019 Magny-Cours World Superbike Superpole Race Result: A Dry Day At Last

The weather improved for Sunday, with a warmer, drier day for the ten lap Superpole sprint race. 

Michael van der Mark led Jonathan Rea, Leon Haslam and Tom Sykes through the sweeping turn two. Leon Haslam tried to take second position from his teammate into the Adelaide hairpin, but they held their positions throughout the lap. At the end of the first lap, Toprak Razgatlioglu had climbed eight places to eighth.

On the second lap, Jonathan Rea tried to take the lead at the hairpin, but had to wait until the chicane to make it stick. Toprak Razgatlioglu set the fastest lap in his charge for fifth place by the end of the second lap, and on lap three, he cut through the crowd to get third place, passing Leon Haslam and Tom Sykes. 

After lap four, the leading trio of Rea, van der Mark and Razgatlioglu were almost a second clear of Chaz Davies who had clawed his way up to fourth place ahead of Leon Haslam, Tom Sykes, Alex Lowes and Alvaro Bautista in the second group. 

Toprak Razgatlioglu saw a gap in to the Adelaide hairpin, under Michael van der Mark, but van der Mark wasn't giving it up easily, closing the gap by leaning on the Kawasaki. Razgatlioglu didn't back down, though, and held the position through the following corners. A lap later, Razgatlioglu made the same move on Jonathan Rea, making the best use of his superior braking, oscillating the rear on a loaded front, to take the lead. 

Michael van der Mark closed back up on the leading pair as they headed into the last three laps a second clear of a lonely Chaz Davies. Davies led his teammate Alvaro Bautista by an insurmountable two and a half seconds.

Toprak Razgatlioglu maintained his lead, able to cover the preferred passing spots by winning braking battles, but Jonathan Rea, on the last lap, finally took the lead back into the Adelaide hairpin, only to go wide. Razgatlioglu didn't need to change his line to retain the lead and he took his second career race in World Superbike ahead of Jonathan Rea. A second behind them, Michael van der Mark came under some pressure from a hungry Chaz Davies, but he held him off at the flag. Alvaro Bautista finished fifth.

Jonathan Rea extends his lead over Alvaro Bautista to one hundred and four points, needing to score twenty one points more than Bautista to take the championship this weekend. Toprak Razgatlioglu's win puts him within three points of Alex Lowes's third place and six points ahead of Michael van der Mark in sixth place. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Kawasaki ZX-10RR  
2 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR 0.319
3 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 1.486
4 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 2.384
5 19 A. BAUTISTA Ducati Panigale V4 R 4.964
6 22 A. LOWES Yamaha YZF R1 5.657
7 76 L. BAZ Yamaha YZF R1 8.759
8 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 9.219
9 91 L. HASLAM Kawasaki ZX-10RR 10.130
10 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 12.807
11 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R1 13.992
12 33 M. MELANDRI Yamaha YZF R1 16.423
13 50 E. LAVERTY Ducati Panigale V4 R 17.810
14 36 L. MERCADO Kawasaki ZX-10RR 17.963
15 81 J. TORRES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 18.269
16 2 L. CAMIER Honda CBR1000RR 18.701
17 28 M. REITERBERGER BMW S1000 RR 20.706
18 20 S. BARRIER Ducati Panigale V4 R 33.922
19 52 A. DELBIANCO Honda CBR1000RR 34.075
20 23 R. KIYONARI Honda CBR1000RR 58.296
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top