2020 Phillip Island World Superbike Superpole Race Result: Ten Fast Laps

The first ten lap Superpole race of the year would award points to the top twelve finishers, with the top nine determining the grid for race two. Garrett Gerloff was un fortunately ruled out of the rest of the day due to a crash caused by Sandro Cortese. Cortese would start the race from the back of the grid. Eugene Laverty also crashed in the warm up and suffered a concussion, ending his weekend. 

Jonathan Rea, after a DNF yesterday, repeated his good start and hit turn one in the lead. Toprak Razgatlioglu passed Tom Sykes for second place. Michael van der Mark was in fourth place, ahead of Loris Baz, Scott Redding and Alex Lowes. Federico Caricasulo crashed out of eighth place and rejoined in last place. 

Lap two was mayhem at turn four as everyone tried to pass everyone else. Scott Redding made up a few places, ending up in fourth place and setting the fastest lap. Alvaro Bautista, further back, crashed at turn six, picked up his bike and rejoined behind Federico Caricasulo. Into turn one of lap three, Redding took third place off Tom Sykes and Loris Baz nudged Sykes out of the way at turn four, giving Alex Lowes and Loris Baz the opportunity to push Sykes back to seventh place, last place in the leading group. Scott Redding set the fastest lap again.

On the fourth lap, Scott Redding saw a gap at turn four, where Toprak Razgatlioglu and Jonathan Rea both entered a bit wide, and Redding took a very tight line, passed Razgatlioglu and made a play for Rea, but Rea held the lead with the inside line to turn five. Loris Baz snapped at Razgatlioglu, but couldn't get anything to stick. 

As Alex Lowes took fourth place, Tom Sykes, Michael van der Mark and Loris Baz scrapped over fifth place and dropped off the leading four, but a lap later, the seven bike peloton at the front was back together for more close racing.

On lap seven of ten, Alex Lowes took third place off Toprak Razgatlioglu into the first corner, but Razgatlioglu held a fast line round the outside of turn two and took third place back off Lowes, then Razgatlioglu took second place off Scott Redding at turn four. Michael van der Mark passed Alex Lowes into turn four as the leading seven bikes remained within thirteen tenths of a second of each other. Lap eight, and Lowes and van der Mark traded places a few times while Loris Baz took sixth place from Tom Sykes at turn four. 

At the end of the penultimate lap, Scott Redding got excellent drive out of the last corner and passed Toprak Razgatlioglu into turn one, but Razgatlioglu took second place back on the exit of the turn and again used his impressive pace through the first sequence of turns to line up a pass into turn four, taking the lead off Jonathan Rea. Rea leant on Razgatlioglu, but had to concede the lead. The leading four riders were now clear of the fight for fifth place and they entered the final few turns as one tight group. 

Jonathan Rea latched onto the back of Toprak Razgatlioglu and put in a block pass into the last corner that turned the race into a drag race to the line. Just like the Saturday race, four riders barrelled round the last turn in unison. Scott Redding pulled out of the slipstream early and tried to take second place from Razgatlioglu, but he was one two hundredth of a second off the Yamaha. 

Jonathan Rea won the race by under seven hundredths of a second, with Toprak Razgatlioglu and Scott Redding joining him on the podium with less than a tenth of a second covering the leading trio and just two tenths covering the top four, Alex Lowes just missing out on a podium. 

Michael van der Mark and Tom Sykes finished in fifth and sixth places, securing them places on the second row of the grid, ahead of Loris Baz, Leon Haslam and Michael Ruben Rinaldi. 

Toprak Razgatlioglu heads to the last race leading the championship, ahead of Alex Lowes and Scott Redding. Jonathan Rea's victory catapults him to seventh place in the title fight with his first points of the season. Another race with three manufacturers on the podium and a ludicrously close finish.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR  
2 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Yamaha YZF R1 0.067
3 45 S. REDDING Ducati Panigale V4 R 0.072
4 22 A. LOWES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 0.205
5 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 1.088
6 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 1.631
7 76 L. BAZ Yamaha YZF R1 1.849
8 91 L. HASLAM Honda CBR1000RR-R 7.145
9 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 7.219
11 11 S. CORTESE Kawasaki ZX-10RR 9.678
12 12 X. FORES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 10.744
13 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 11.124
14 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R1 31.961
15 13 T. TAKAHASHI Honda CBR1000RR-R 36.341
16 19 A. BAUTISTA Honda CBR1000RR-R 3 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top