2020 Portimao World Superbike Superpole Race Result: Spend Them Tyres

The ten lap Superpole race would determine the grid positions for race two this afternoon. 

Jonathan Rea launched into the lead from pole position, ahead of Toprak Razgatlioglu, Loris Baz and Tom Sykes, in spite of Razgatlioglu briefly leading into turn one, overcooking the entry and recovering behind Rea. On the second lap, Jonathan Rea rabbited at the front, setting a fastest lap of 1'41.371, dragging Razgatlioglu with him as the leading pair left Baz in charge of the fight for third place. 

As Sykes dropped back a few places, further back, Chaz Davies and Eugene Laverty had a coming together at turn five. Behind Baz, Alex Lowes held off Scott Redding, Tom Sykes and Michael van der Mark. Redding came under a bit of pressure, but that was soon lifted as Sykes and van der Mark slowed each other up swapping back and forth at turn five to give Redding some breaking room. 

At the halfway mark, Jonathan Rea broke the bubble of air between himself and Toprak Razgatlioglu and started to stretch out a lead. Loris Baz in third place was over two seconds behind the leading duo with Alex Lowes unable to make any headway to third place. Redding, Sykes and van der Mark couldn't change their order, but behind them, Michael Rinaldi started causing problems for Leon Haslam, keeping him on his toes until the end of the race.

With the riders all going flat out with plenty of tyre left at the end, there were almost no overtakes in the last few laps, and there were no surprises at the front.

Jonathan Rea won with Toprak Razgatlioglu not far behind. Loris Baz took the last step of the podium, his first top three result since 2014, setting the front row for race two. Alex Lowes, Scott Redding and Tom Sykes made up the second row while the third row would be Michael van der Mark ahead of Michael Rinaldi who pipped ninth-placed Leon Haslam at the flag. 

Scott Redding still leads the championship, bit Jonathan Rea;s victory slashed his lead to just one point. Toprak Razgatlioglu maintains third place, ahead of Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark. Sixth-placed Chaz Davies, scoring no points and not putting himself in the top nine for race two, has Loris Baz, fresh off the podium, just eight points behind him in seventh.

This afternoon's race could see changes throughout the top ten of the championship.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR  
2 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Yamaha YZF R1 2.946
3 76 L. BAZ Yamaha YZF R1 4.748
4 22 A. LOWES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 5.374
5 45 S. REDDING Ducati Panigale V4 R 1.231
6 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 7.723
7 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 9.138
8 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 13.675
9 91 L. HASLAM Honda CBR1000RR-R 13.776
10 31 G. GERLOFF Yamaha YZF R1 14.245
11 19 A. BAUTISTA Honda CBR1000RR-R 14.318
12 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R1 17.399
13 12 X. FORES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 19.224
14 36 L. MERCADO Ducati Panigale V4 R 21.240
15 33 M. MELANDRI Ducati Panigale V4 R 33.300
16 20 S. BARRIER Ducati Panigale V4 R 35.714
17 23 C. PONSSON Aprilia RSV4 1000 36.394
18 63 L. GABELLINI Honda CBR1000RR-R 39.361
19 13 T. TAKAHASHI Honda CBR1000RR-R 40.736
20 50 E. LAVERTY BMW S1000 RR 1 Lap
RET 77 M. SCHEIB Kawasaki ZX-10RR 6
RET 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 7 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top