2020 Aragon World Supersport Race Two Result: Quicker Than Yesterday

World Supersport's second race of the weekend, and second of four at this track in the unusual 2020 calendar, took place on a windy track. Andrea Locatelli has a forty point lead in the championship heading into this race.

Lucas Mahias once again got the best start of the front row, beating Andrea Locatelli and Jules Cluzel into turn one, but by turn five, Andrea Locatelli ominously got to the front, and Philipp Oettl pushed Cluzel back to fourth. At the end of the lap, down the long straight, Cluzel took third place back, leaving Oettl to deal with fifth-placed Isaac Viñales, the last rider in the breakaway front five bikes. 

The leading three riders all set the fastest lap, in sequence, but a lap later Locatelli set it again and on lap five, as Isaac Viñales dropped off the back of the leading four and had Rafaelle De Rosa on his case, Locatelli set the fastest lap once more, with a 1'54.034, finally breaking free of Lucas Mahias's challenge. 

At the start of lap six, the front three had fresh air separating them all, but Jules Cluzel and Philipp Oettl caught up with Lucas Mahias on lap seven, Cluzel taking second place into turn sixteen. Raffaele De Rosa was doing his usual mid-race charge and had clawed his way up to fifth place, despatching Isaac Viñales to a lonely sixth place ride. Three laps from the end, De Rosa passed Oettl into turn one, and a lap later did the same to Mahias. Mahias and Oettl, in spite of a great start, would miss the podium.

Andrea Locatelli won from pole position and set the fastest lap of the race. This is the seventh time out of seven races that he has done the gentlemen's set, and the streak continues. Jules Cluzel's second place is his sixth of the year while Raffaele De Rosa claims his second podium, not counting the one he got taken away at Phillip Island.

Locatelli's runaway lead in the championship puts him forty five points clear of Jules Cluzel and an astonishing eighty nine points clear of Lucas Mahias. Philip Oettl's continued strong pace keeps him in fourth place in the title chase, ahead of Corentin Perolari who is only one point ahead of sixth placed Raffaele De Rosa. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 55 A. LOCATELLI Yamaha YZF R6  
2 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 2.190
3 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 2.479
4 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.446
5 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.468
6 32 I. VINALES Yamaha YZF R6 9.981
7 94 C. PEROLARI Yamaha YZF R6 17.810
8 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 17.820
9 99 D. WEBB Yamaha YZF R6 19.156
10 81 M. GONZALEZ Kawasaki ZX-6R 19.167
11 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 19.173
12 22 F. FULIGNI MV Agusta F3 675 19.513
13 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 21.739
14 12 A. RUIZ CARRANZA Yamaha YZF R6 30.690
15 78 H. OKUBO Honda CBR600RR 33.792
16 43 S. VALTULINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 40.752
17 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 43.033
18 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Honda CBR600RR 47.477
19 25 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 49.918
20 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 49.950
21 9 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 50.089
22 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 1'04.794
RET 83 L. EPIS Yamaha YZF R6 13 Laps
RET 47 A. BASSANI Yamaha YZF R6  
RET 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top