2020 Misano MotoE Race Result: Home Sweet Home

After a long wait, electric powered machines were back to add to the action in Misano and they provided plenty of that over seven laps. Mattia Casadei started from pole due to the reigning champion’s grid penalty and the Italian kept the lead into turn one, from fellow front row starters Xavier Simeon and Lukas Tulovic. Matteo Ferrari wasn’t too bothered with his penalty and was soon attacking for the top 3. Tulovic attempted to defend but ran off track at turn 11 and left the podium battle, allowing Jordi Torres and Dominique Aegerter to get involved. Having started last, Eric Granado climbed to 13th by the end of the first lap, but the going got tougher from then on and the Brazilian never got any higher than 10th.

The lead men were not making much noise early on, other than leader Casadei getting a track limits warning, and together with Ferrari, Simeon, Torres and Aegerter, the group had stretched a gap to the pursuers, which Mike Di Meglio was fighting to reduce. The Frenchman’s mission was aided by the squabble between Torres and Aegerter and he joined the battle for the final four laps.

With three laps remaining, Ferrari found some room on the inside of Casadei at turn 11 and pushed to stretch a gap at the front, helped by Simeon swiftly attacking his compatriot. Ferrari entered the final lap with only three tenths advantage and within striking distance but Simeon didn’t get a solid chance to overtake and the Italian scored a precious win in front of the restricted home audience. Aegerter was the only rider to create some action on the last lap, finding his way past Torres and Casadei to grab the final podium spot.

Ferrari’s victory adds some fire to his championship defence and the Italian becomes Aegerter’s main challenger, with a 12 point deficit to recover and with Torres another two points down. Granado's unofrtunate first weekend in Misano drops him to sixth in the standings, 23 points behind the rookie leader.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica 12'14.331
2 10 Xavier Simeon Energica +0.213
3 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica +0.372
4 40 Jordi Torres Energica +0.474
5 27 Mattia Casadei Energica +0.606
6 63 Mike Di Meglio Energica +0.780
7 61 Alessandro Zaccone Energica +4.393
8 15 Alex De Angelis Energica +4.476
9 70 Tommaso Marcon Energica +4.915
10 51 Eric Granado Energica +5.056
11 7 Niccolo Canepa Energica +5.439
12 35 Lukas Tulovic Energica +5.705
13 55 Alejandro Medina Energica +8.448
14 18 Xavi Cardelus Energica +8.582
15 6 Maria Herrera Energica +8.813
16 84 Jakub Kornfeil Energica +11.795
17 66 Niki Tuuli Energica +12.892
18 16 Josh Hook Energica +36.401
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top