2020 Emilia-Romagna MotoE Race 2 Result: Luck Changes Hands

MotoE provided the first bit of action for the day and served its fair share of championship drama for this early in the morning. Race 1 winner Dominique Aegerter made a good start from pole and made it first into turn one, but only by a whisker as Matteo Ferrari was on the attack straight away. Ferrari only needed half a lap to take control of the action at turn 7 and luck swung back his way when an ambitious move from Tommaso Marcon wiped Aegerter out of contention at turn 2, handing the championship lead to the reigning champion.

The incident left Mattia Casadei and Jordi Torres pushing to reduce the half second gap to Ferrari for the remaining five laps, but the duo weren’t helping their cause by engaging in battle for second. Torres struggled to make a move stick on Casadei, although glued to his rear wheel throughout, all the while Ferrari increased his gap to a full second for the final two laps. With the Italian safe in the lead, the remaining podium positions were decided on the final lap, which Casadei started ahead of Torres and finished ahead of him too. About three seconds down the road, Niccolo Canepa and Alessandro Zaccone rounded out the top five.

Aegerter rejoined the race but point scoring positions were a tough ask and he lost the championship lead to Ferrari by 4 points. Torres gets closer in the fight, 7 points back on the new leader and with Casadei also back in contention, only 15 points behind.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica 12'11.053
2 27 Mattia Casadei Energica +0.996
3 40 Jordi Torres Energica +1.098
4 7 Niccolo Canepa Energica +3.907
5 61 Alessandro Zaccone Energica +4.619
6 63 Mike Di Meglio Energica +6.046
7 51 Eric Granado Energica +6.097
8 15 Alex De Angelis Energica +6.775
9 55 Alejandro Medina Energica +6.672
10 18 Xavi Cardelus Energica +7.042
11 6 Maria Herrera Energica +7.868
12 66 Niki Tuuli Energica +11.514
13 84 Jakub Kornfeil Energica +12.652
14 10 Xavier Simeon Energica +15.533
15 35 Lukas Tulovic Energica +27.210
16 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica +38.363
Not Classified
  16 Josh Hook Energica 2 Laps
  70 Tommaso Marcon Energica 6 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top