2020 Estoril World Supersport Race One Result: Red Flag Gives Us A Sprint Race

World Supersport would be split by a red flag turning the race into a twelve lap sprint race.

Lucas Mahias fluffed turn one and Andrea Locatelli took the lead, and after a few laps, Locatelli led Raffaele De Rosa and Lucas Mahias until the red flags came out for track conditions were deemed unsafe after a crash from Peter Sebestyen threw gravel back onto the track. 

After a twelve lap restart, Andrea Locatelli led into turn one, ahead of Lucas Mahias and Raffaele De Rosa, and into turn two, De Rosa slipped underneath Mahias only to lose grip and take the pair of them out. 

After that, the race proceeded as expected with Locatelli leading, setting the fastest lap four laps into the restart with a 1'40.213 as a second behind Hannes Soomer and Philipp Oettl battled it out for second place, with Oettl taking second place with eight laps remaining. 

On lap six, Can Oncu took fourth place from Steven Odendaal, two seconds behind Oettl and Soomer, but Odendaal took it back towards the end of the lap. Isaac Viñales set the fastest lap of 1'40.053 as he closed up to Miguel Gonzales on the back of the fight for fourth and started carving his way through the pack, starting lap eight fighting Odendaal for fourth place. 

Jules Cluzel was in tenth place in his first race back from injury, with three seconds behind him, and he took ninth place on lap nine, as the fight for fourth entered the first turn three bikes wide while the podium looked set, the fight between Philipp Oettl and Hannes Soomer the only thing remaining to be determined, over a second behind Locatelli.

Isaac Viñales broke free from the fight between Can Oncu, Steven Odendaal and Manuel Gonzales, settling into forth place a second ahead of the fight but three seconds off a podium place.

Reigning world champion Andrea Locatelli won, completing his unbroken run of a win at each track with Philipp Oettl and Hannes Soomer rounding out the podium. Isaac Viñales took fourth place a second and a half ahead of Steven Odendaal.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 55 A. LOCATELLI Yamaha YZF R6  
2 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.591
3 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6 1.968
4 32 I. VINALES Yamaha YZF R6 4.634
5 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 6.211
6 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 6.776
7 81 M. GONZALEZ Kawasaki ZX-6R 6.783
8 47 A. BASSANI Yamaha YZF R6 10.724
9 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 11.386
10 94 C. PEROLARI Yamaha YZF R6 14.494
11 99 D. WEBB Yamaha YZF R6 15.215
12 78 H. OKUBO Honda CBR600RR 15.259
13 22 F. FULIGNI MV Agusta F3 675 23.869
14 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 23.963
15 25 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 24.194
16 9 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 25.649
17 30 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 31.099
18 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Honda CBR600RR 35.996
19 21 V. FALCONE Yamaha YZF R6 1'04.021
RET 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-6R  
RET 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675  
RET 98 K. HANIKA Yamaha YZF R6  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top