2021 Barcelona Moto2 Race Result: When Life Gives You Oranges, Make Prosecco

Hot asphalt awaited the intermediate class ahead of their race and the bar was set pretty high after the MotoGP thriller before them. In a familiar flashback, it was the two KTM-branded machines who hogged the limelight throughout the 22-lap race and Remy Gardner was once again the victor, crossing the finish line almost two seconds ahead to secure his third victory in the class. Rookie teammate Raul Fernandez settled for the second place trophy and a third successive podium, with Xavi Vierge stepping onto the final step of the podium after a long wait.

Gardner made a quick start from pole position to lead the way from front row starters Fernandez and Bo Bendsneyder, while Vierge climbed into fourth, ahead of Augusto Fernandez. Marco Bezzecchi also made a fast start to go from 10th on the grid to 6th after a couple corners, while rival Sam Lowes went the other way, 8th on the grid to 12th early on.

While Raul Fernandez and Bendsneyder were trading places behind him, Gardner extended a half second gap at the front by lap 2. Fernandez soon claimed the right to reel in his teammate, keeping Bendsneyder at arm’s length, with Vierge, Bezzecchi, Augusto Fernandez and Aron Canet also holding onto the chasing group. Rookie Ai Ogura had dropped a second back by lap 3 and the likes of Fabio Di Giannantonio and Lowes wouldn’t have been too happy to get stuck in that group rather than the victory battle.

By lap 4, the victory already looked like a Red Bull KTM Ajo affair, as Fernandez caught up with his teammate and left the chasing group half a second back and led by Bendsneyder. The pursuers seemed to reduce in numbers over the next few laps, only Vierge and Bezzecchi keeping calm and following the Dutchman, while the exchanges between Canet and Augusto Fernandez dropped them one second back. Ai Ogura was getting ready to cause them some headaches but Canet never got to suffer that as he crashed out at turn 5 of lap 7 and left Fernandez to resist the rookie on his own. Another second back, Lowes found some rhythm and was bringing Di Giannantonio with him.

Back at the front, the KTMs were untroubled and Raul Fernandez slid past his teammate going into turn 1 to pick up the lead with 11 laps to go. Bendsneyder, Vierge and Bezzecchi were biding their time in the battle for third, one second behind the leaders and the exchanges only started with 7 laps remaining, when Vierge found turn 1 ahead of Bendsneyder. Bezzecchi followed his example one lap later and the Dutch rider dropped to 5th.

Fernandez continued to lead with outstanding consistency but got a track limits warning with 4 laps remaining and was not dropping his teammate, the gap rarely going over one tenth of a second. Gardner made a last-second decision to make his decisive move at turn 1 with 3 laps remaining and immediately opened a gap, starting the final lap over a second ahead of his rookie teammate. Fernandez had to admit defeat once more and crossed the finish line in a safe second, while Vierge secured his first podium of the season another second later. Bezzecchi missed out on the podium by three tenths of a second, while Augusto Fernandez finally finished a race and overtook Bendsneyder for a solid fifth in the closing stages. Lowes inherited seventh place after Ogura made a rookie mistake at turn 4 with 3 laps remaining, while Marcel Schrotter, Somkiat Chantra and Joe Roberts joined the top 10, helped by a late clash between Fabio Di Giannantonio and Hector Garzo.

Gardner’s win in fine style extends his lead in the championship over his teammate to 11 points, with Bezzecchi 38 points down and Lowes a pretty significant 64.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 87 Remy Gardner Kalex 38'22.284
2 25 Raul Fernandez Kalex +1.872
3 97 Xavi Vierge Kalex +2.866
4 72 Marco Bezzecchi Kalex +3.207
5 37 Augusto Fernandez Kalex +3.899
6 64 Bo Bendsneyder Kalex +4.541
7 22 Sam Lowes Kalex +4.875
8 23 Marcel Schrotter Kalex +15.973
9 35 Somkiat Chantra Kalex +17.515
10 16 Joe Roberts Kalex +19.838
11 9 Jorge Navarro Boscoscuro +20.571
12 75 Albert Arenas Boscoscuro +22.512
13 14 Tony Arbolino Kalex +22.558
14 13 Celestino Vietti Kalex +23.238
15 12 Thomas Luthi Kalex +23.958
16 24 Simone Corsi MV Agusta +25.099
17 11 Nicolò Bulega Kalex +31.344
18 96 Jake Dixon Kalex +37.129
19 6 Cameron Beaubier Kalex +37.895
20 55 Hafizh Syahrin NTS +38.438
21 2 Alonso Lopez Boscoscuro +40.247
22 70 Barry Baltus NTS +40.674
23 7 Lorenzo Baldassarri MV Agusta +40.784
24 62 Stefano Manzi Kalex +48.588
25 74 Piotr Biesiekirski Kalex +49.640
26 81 Keminth Kubo Kalex +49.694
Not Classified
  40 Hector Garzo Kalex 2 Laps
  21 Fabio Di Giannantonio Kalex 2 Laps
  79 Ai Ogura Kalex 3 Laps
  19 Lorenzo Dalla Porta Kalex 4 Laps
  42 Marcos Ramirez Kalex 15 Laps
  44 Aron Canet Boscoscuro 16 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top