2021 Barcelona MotoE Race Result: Fresh Faces And Mixed Fortunes

The MotoE class closed a respectable spectacle in Catalunya with a shortened 6-lap sprint, but their show started before the lights even turned on, when poleman Eric Granado hit technical problems on the grid and the race got delayed while he was sent to pitlane.

Jordi Torres was left on “pole” but he couldn’t hold onto the lead and Dominique Aegerter took over top spot into turn 1 from Torres and Alessandro Zaccone. Granado joined the race from pitlane and was six seconds behind the leader by the end of lap 1.

The turn 1 roulette was in play for MotoE as well, so Aegerter got pushed back by Zaccone at the start of lap 2 and was soon under attack from a feisty Miquel Pons. The LCR man attacked for the lead the next time they reached the main straight but Aegerter got back ahead by turn 1, in front of Torres and Zaccone.

The lead changed hands again on lap 4, when Zaccone won the turn 1 lottery, once again from Aegerter but Torres was under attack from Pons and Mattia Casadei, both riders getting ahead by the end of that lap. However, it was mixed fortunes for the duo as Pons went on to pick up the lead with 2 laps remaining, while Casadei crashed out at turn 10.

Pons held onto the lead on the final lap and his 3-tenth advantage was just enough to avoid any attacks until the finish line, securing him a maiden win in the class. Aegerter settled for second, with Torres joining them on the podium. Zaccone and Yonny Hernandez completed the top 5, while Matteo Ferrari relinquished sixth place to Fermín Aldeguer after a penalty for exceeding track limits on the final lap. Eric Granado had made some progress to join the top 10 but crashed out on the final lap.

Although Zaccone missed out on the podium by half a second, he maintains his lead in the championship by one point from Aegerter. Torres in third is 11 points down, with Pons climbing into fourth, 18 points behind the leader. After their respective crashes, Casadei and Granado drop to fifth and sixth in the standings, 21 and 26 points down.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 71 Miquel Pons Energica 11'15.075
2 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica +0.531
3 40 Jordi Torres Energica +0.577
4 61 Alessandro Zaccone Energica +1.121
5 68 Yonny Hernandez Energica +1.151
6 54 Fermín Aldeguer Energica +1.790
7 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica +1.764
8 3 Lukas Tulovic Energica +2.352
9 78 Hikari Okubo Energica +3.214
10 19 Corentin Perolari Energica +5.160
11 6 Maria Herrera Energica +5.394
12 21 Kevin Zannoni Energica +12.150
13 14 Andre Pires Energica +24.162
14 9 Andrea Mantovani Energica +1'39.276
Not Classified
  51 Eric Granado Energica 1 Lap
  27 Mattia Casadei Energica 2 Laps
  80 Jasper Iwema Energica 5 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
  18 Xavi Cardelus Energica 0 Lap
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top