2021 Sachsenring Moto2 Race Result: Big Wins, Big Mistakes

Sachsenring was slightly cooler and windier than originally expected at the start of the intermediate class race but the change in conditions had little impact on the storyline over 28 laps. The 200th Moto2 race eventually crowned Remy Gardner as its well-deserved winner, the Australian riding an impeccable race way ahead of the field to secure a third consecutive victory. You might be surprised to hear that the man following him across the line is someone other than his teammate, but it was Aron Canet who made some early progress from 10th on the grid to claim the second podium spot. Marco Bezzecchi also makes a strong return to the podium in third position.

Poleman Raul Fernandez had made a great start to lead into turn 1 but had Gardner quickly on his tail, while fellow front row starter Fabio Di Giannantonio couldn’t quite match the duo and dropped behind Xavi Vierge and Bezzecchi. The Red Bull KTM Ajo boys extended their gap at the front to over a second on lap 2, while Sam Lowes, who started 7th, had dropped down to 11th position.

Gardner was keen to lead the way and found the inside of his teammate at turn 12 on the second lap, their gap to the chasing group continuing to grow by almost a second every lap, for the next few laps. It looked like another procession for the orange machines but Fernandez made his first big mistake of the season as he slid out at turn 3 on lap 5, leaving Gardner in a lone race five seconds ahead of the chase. Vierge initially led the pursuit ahead of Bezzecchi, Canet and Di Giannantonio but Canet seemed like the strongest of the bunch and got ahead of his colleagues to stretch a half second gap by lap 7. Although he was making no impression on Gardner ahead, Canet’s advantage grew to one second one lap later and the Bezzecchi, Vierge and Di Giannantonio group were not too far ahead of another group including Jorge Navarro, Ai Ogura, Marcel Schrotter and Sam Lowes.

Gardner and his steady 5-second advantage barely got any airtime for the next dozen laps and there were only glimpses of Canet, two seconds ahead of the battle between Bezzecchi and Di Giannantonio. The moves only really started with 12 laps to go but Bezzecchi was not keen to surrender and the exchanges allowed Vierge and Ogura to recover some ground on them.

Gardner’s lead extended to seven seconds for the final five laps and he managed that gap to Canet to the checkered flag. Bezzecchi was steadily reducing the gap to Canet in the final handful of laps but it was too late and the Spaniard secured second ahead of the Italian. Di Giannantonio faded late on and could not challenge Bezzecchi for the podium, crossing the finish line fourth. Ogura was one of the few men on a charge in the closing stages, getting past Vierge with four laps to go and somewhat closing in on Di Giannantonio, but both Vierge and Ogura crashed out on the final lap. Lowes inherited fifth after overtaking Schrotter on the last lap, the home favourite finishing sixth. Navarro, Albert Arenas, Marcos Ramirez and Cameron Beaubier rounded out the top 10 places.

Aided by his teammate’s misfortune, Gardner extends his championship lead to 36 points over Fernandez, with Bezzecchi 47 points down and Lowes a significant 78.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 87 Remy Gardner Kalex 39'39.191
2 44 Aron Canet Boscoscuro +6.158
3 72 Marco Bezzecchi Kalex +7.030
4 21 Fabio Di Giannantonio Kalex +8.145
5 22 Sam Lowes Kalex +9.888
6 23 Marcel Schrotter Kalex +10.000
7 9 Jorge Navarro Boscoscuro +16.039
8 75 Albert Arenas Boscoscuro +19.394
9 42 Marcos Ramirez Kalex +21.718
10 6 Cameron Beaubier Kalex +26.393
11 11 Nicolò Bulega Kalex +26.732
12 2 Alonso Lopez Kalex +26.835
13 64 Bo Bendsneyder Kalex +28.034
14 70 Barry Baltus NTS +28.984
15 13 Celestino Vietti Kalex +31.414
16 14 Tony Arbolino Kalex +33.176
17 55 Hafizh Syahrin NTS +33.425
18 35 Somkiat Chantra Kalex +39.638
19 12 Thomas Luthi Kalex +39.682
20 62 Stefano Manzi Kalex +44.613
21 96 Jake Dixon Kalex +47.416
Not Classified
  79 Ai Ogura Kalex 1 Lap
  97 Xavi Vierge Kalex 1 Lap
  16 Joe Roberts Kalex 1 Lap
  19 Lorenzo Dalla Porta Kalex 14 Laps
  37 Augusto Fernandez Kalex 22 Laps
  7 Lorenzo Baldassarri MV Agusta 22 Laps
  25 Raul Fernandez Kalex 24 Laps
  54 Fermín Aldeguer Boscoscuro 25 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
  24 Simone Corsi MV Agusta 0 Lap
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Remy becomes the first Aussie ever to win three in a row in the intermediate series, not even Casey got that stat, Well done Remy stay focused and calm and we will sit back and marvel.