2021 Assen World Superbike Race One Result: Red Flagged Session

As the riders lined up for the 21 lap race, Jonathan Rea was the only rider with the super-soft SCX tyre on the back of his bike, with Toprak Razgatlioglu and Scott Redding opting to use the standard SC0 Pirelli. Rea also lined up with the development front tyre. The track was 37ºC, a little warmer than the tyres like. 

Jonathan Rea and Toprak Razgatlioglu had good starts, but Razgatlioglu was better into turn one, taking the lead from Rea. Michael Ruben Rinaldi was in third place ahead of Scott Redding and Alex Lowes with Jonas Folger and Andrea Locatelli behind them. At turn four, Razgatlioglu took a wide line and Rea used his better grip to slip under the Yamaha rider to take the lead. 

As Garrett Gerloff and Tom Sykes worked their way through the slower riders from their shared last places, they ended the first lap trading fourteenth place between them. On the second lap, while Scott Redding set the fastest lap, Alvaro Bautista ended his race in a fast turn eight crash, the first of a few crashes.

The next lap, as the leading five cleared off from the sixth place battle between Jonas Folger and Andrea Locatelli, Alex Lowes on the back of the leading group lost grip at turn five, losing his bike to the gravel. Three turns later, Michael Ruben Rinaldi joined him in the DNF pile, leaving the top three of Rea, Razgatlioglu and Redding in a safe podium group over two seconds clear of fourth place. 

At the start of lap four, Toprak Razgatlioglu powered into turn one on the brakes and took the lead from Jonathan Rea. Scott Redding remained within a half second of the lead and had a prime view of Rea trying to take the lead back, nipping at Razgatlioglu's rear tyre. A lap later, with the leading three formation flying at the lead, the man in fourth place was local rider Michael van der Mark. Over two seconds off the fight over podium places, but comfortably ahead of Andrea Locatelli and Jonas Folger. Garrett Gerloff and Tom Sykes were jostling for positions in the top ten, when Jonathan Rea lined up Razgatlioglu in the run from turn six to turn seven and made a clean pass. Razgatlioglu looked for a way back, but Rea had the better of him. Three laps later, Scott Redding played the same card and took second place off Razgatlioglu, and proceeded to challenge Rea for the lead. 

Halfway through the race, Scott Redding made an error near the beginning of lap eleven, which gave Razgatlioglu the momentum to take second place from them and allowed Jonathan Rea to squeak out a gap of over a second in one lap. Redding and Razgatlioglu settled down, not letting Michael van der Mark to get too close. The Dutchman got within two seconds as they were unsettled, but the gap very quickly returned to its previous size of over two seconds. Van der Mark's lead over Andrea Locatelli was still over a second with Jonas Folger over a second behind him. 

By lap sixteen, Jonathan Rea was over two seconds clear of Toprak Razgatlioglu and Scott Redding, and Redding made a fast pass into turn six, taking second place. Razgatlioglu tried to find a way past, making Redding have to work hard around the fast sweeping turns, but the Ducati man retained second place and razgatlioglu settled into place behind him and started watching where he could make a move, planning on a last lap pass. 

Garrett Gerloff and Tom Sykes were the fastest riders on track as the laps counted down, and Gerloff made his way to sixth place, almost three seconds behind Andrea Locatelli. As Tom Sykes and Jonas Folger were duelling, Folger had a very fast crash that brought out the red flags with two laps remaining. 

Jonathan Rea won his thirteenth race at Assen, passing Carl Fogarty's record of twelve. Scott Redding finished in second place ahead of Toprak Razgatlioglu who regretted his waiting for a last lap attempt at second place. 

Jonathan Rea took the championship lead back from Toprak Razgatlioglu, leading by seven points, as Scott Redding increased his lead over Alex Lowes. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR  
2 45 S. REDDING Ducati Panigale V4 R 3.312
3 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Yamaha YZF R1 1 Sector
4 60 M. VAN DER MARK BMW M 1000 RR 1 Sector
5 55 A. LOCATELLI Yamaha YZF R1 1.661
6 31 G. GERLOFF Yamaha YZF R1 1 Sector
7 66 T. SYKES BMW M 1000 RR 1 Sector
8 91 L. HASLAM Honda CBR1000 RR-R 1 Sector
9 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 1 Sector
10 47 A. BASSANI Ducati Panigale V4 R 1 Sector
11 32 I. VINALES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 2 Sectors
12 36 L. MERCADO Honda CBR1000 RR-R 2 Sectors
13 84 L. CRESSON Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1 Lap
14 9 A. MANTOVANI Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1 Lap
RET 94 J. FOLGER BMW M 1000 RR 18
RET 53 T. RABAT Ducati Panigale V4 R 16
RET 3 K. NOZANE Yamaha YZF R1 12
RET 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-10RR 12
RET 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 1'34.993
RET 22 A. LOWES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1'34.912
RET 19 A. BAUTISTA Honda CBR1000 RR-R 297,5
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top