2021 Assen World Supersport Race One Result: Unrelenting Pace

The opening eighteen lap World Supersport race would be missing Hannes Soomer as he was ruled untit after getting a concussion in the Superpole session.

Steven Odendaal got the hole shot, but Dominique Aegerter took the lead from him on his yellow-liveried Yamaha R6. Philipp Oettl was with the leading two, holding first place briefly, as Can Oncu set the fastest lap in seventh place on lap two. 

Aegerter took the lead back after a mistake from Odendaal and Oettl took send place at the start of the fourth lap as the leading eight riders were all within reach of one another. 

Aegerter, Oettl, Odendaal, Oncu, Gonzales, Cluzel, Krummenacher and Alcoba were joined by Niki Tuuli, setting the fastest lap to catch the leaders, to make the leading group nine bikes long. 

Lap five had all three leading riders setting the fastest lap to start lap six as they broke free of the fight for fourth place, with Aegerter and Oettl briefly holding the fastest lap until Odendaal took it from them. The three leading riders did the exact same at the end of lap six, dragging the lead over Manuel Gonzalez to over a second. Jules Cluzel and Can Oncu looked for a way past Gonzalez, eager to break free.

Dominique Aegerter set the fastest lap on lap seven, but couldn't shake Steven Odendaal and Philipp Oettl off. Behind them, Can Oncu passed Jules Cluzel only to have Cluzel to fight back for fifth place, which allowed Gonzalez to clear away a little and slice two tenths off the gap in front of him.

Steven Odendaal kept looking for a way bast Dominique Aegerter as Philipp Oettl sat less than a tenth of a second behind him. Niki Tuuli crashed out in the Geert Timmer chicane, trying to pass Randy Krummenacher after Krummenacher made a slight mistake. Tuuli ended up in the middle of a chicane with nowhere near enough grip for the speed he tried to turn on the kerb, and his bike bucked him off at the last corner. 

Dominique Aegerter then smashed the lap record to get half a second of clean air from Steven Odendaal and Philipp Oettl, but Oettl was also under the lap record, a tenth slower than the leader. Oettl couldn't maintain the lap record pace, and the leading pair left him in their wake. 

Fourteen of eighteen laps in, Aegerter and Odendaal were almost two seconds ahead of Philipp Oettl, with Manuel Gonzalez over three seconds further behind and Randy Krummenacher and Jules Cluzel just a second and a half off Gonzalez.

By lap sixteen, Oettl was three seconds off the leading pair, and Aegerter's relentless lap record pace proved too much for Odendaal to maintain, and he finally fell out of Aegerter's air bubble and immediately dropped off tenth by tenth over lap sixteen. Randy Krummenacher and Jules Cluzel closed up on Manuel Gonzalez and the more experienced Krummenacher made quick work of Gonzalez and Cluzel followed him through a lap later. 

Dominique Aegerter moved the lap record again, recording a 1'37.688 over two seconds clear of Steven Odendaal who was five seconds clear of Steven Oettl. Three seconds further back, Jules Cluzel took fourth place off Randy Krummenacher before the flag came out.

Dominique Aegerter won clearly, almost three seconds clear of Steven Odendaal and over eight seconds ahead of third placed Philipp Oettl. Jules Cluzel and Randy Krummenacher finished fourth and fifth with Manuel Gonzalez in sixth place less than a quarter of a second behind them. 

Dominique Aegerter, with pole postition, the fastest lap and his fourth win in a row, increased his lead in the championship to twenty two points over Steven Odendaal. Philipp Oettl's third place put him into third place, with Luca Bernardi only managing a twelfth place finish, dropping to fourth place in the championship.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 2.846
3 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 6.025
4 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 11.159
5 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 11.276
6 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 0.225
7 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 3.917
8 94 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 15.430
9 70 M. ALCOBA Yamaha YZF R6 19.727
10 32 S. MORAIS Yamaha YZF R6 28.623
11 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 0.749
13 84 M. FABRIZIO Kawasaki ZX-6R 5.823
14 55 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 38.657
15 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 38.702
16 24 L. TACCINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 38.866
17 22 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 49.709
18 42 S. FROSSARD Yamaha YZF R6 49.934
19 33 E. LAHTI Suzuki GSX-R600 50.026
20 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 1'12.083
21 69 E. MONTERO HUERTA Yamaha YZF R6 1'27.441
RET 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
RET 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 2 Laps
RET 7 M. CASADEI Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps
RET 95 V. TAKALA Yamaha YZF R6 6 Laps
RET 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 675 8 Laps
RET 99 D. WEBB Yamaha YZF R6 12 Laps
RET 19 P. SZKOPEK Yamaha YZF R6 15 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top