2021 Assen World Supersport Race Two Result: Overtakes? We Got 'Em

As the rain stayed away, World Superport lined up for eighteen laps. Could Aegerter make it five in a row?

Dominique Aegerter led Philipp Oettl and Steven Odendaal, but Oettl took the lead a few turns in. Further back, Raffaele de Rosa and Federico Caricasulo crashed out. On lap two, Steven Odendaal and Dominique Aegerter swapped back and forth as Jules Cluzel and Randy Krummenacher watched. Krummenacher set the fastest lap on lap two. Two seconds covered the top nine, all in striking distance of the riders around them. 

Philipp Oettl led Steven Odendaal, Dominique Aegerter, Jules Cluzel, Randy Krummenacher and Manuel Gonzalez formed the first group as the riders behind dropped out of the leading pack. Into the Geert Timmer chicane at the end of lap four, Dominique Aegerter lunged to take second place from Odendaal, and Cluzel followed through. Once Aegerter caught Oettl, he wasted no time to pass him, setting the fastest lap as he tried to escape, but Oettl was able to stay with him. Steven Odendaal and Jules Cluzel, having swapped places, were almost a second off the leading two as they broke away. 

Can Oncu, Manuel Gonzalez and Luca Bernardi joined the fight for third place as Steven Odendaal set the fastest lap pulling the second group to catch Aegerter and Oettl. The leading group then became eight bikes briefly, but the riders behind Odendaal couldn't keep up and they split into the front three leading a group of five over a second off them.

At half race distance, Dominique Aegerter and Philipp Oettl lost Steven Odendaal as he fell out of the points after an error. Aegerter and Oettl had a three second lead over Jules Cluzel, Randy Krummenacher, Manuel Gonzalez, Can Oncu and Luca Bernardi, fighting over the chance for third place. Odendaal was in nineteenth place after his problem. 

Dominique Aegerter set the fastest lap on lap ten of eighteen, slowly stretching his lead over Philipp Oettl and starting lap twelve almost a second clear. Randy Krummenacher made a move on Jules Cluzel and was followed by Luca Bernardi. Aegerter set another fastest lap for two more laps in a row, leading Oettl by two seconds by lap thirteen, as Luca Bernardi pushed past Randy Krummenacher into turn one to take third place. 

Another fastest lap and another second over second place, Dominique Aegerter flipped a switch and left Philipp Oettl three and a half seconds behind him. Oettl was over three seconds clear of Luca Bernardi or Randy Krummenacher, depending on where around the lap they were, Bernardi being stronger in the first half of the lap while Krummenacher led in the second half. Manuel Gonzalez remained within a tenth or two of the fight for third place. 

On lap sixteen, Dominique Aegerter had a five second lead over Philipp Oettl with Randy Krummenacher, Manuel Gonzalez and Luca Bernardi over three seconds further back, swapping places over and over as the laps ticked off. Bernardi received a track limits warning as he fought through.

Aegerter stretched his lead to six seconds at the start of lap seventeen, leading Oettl by over six seconds. Randy Krummenacher held third place two and a half seconds behind Oettl, but Bernardi briefly held third place before Krummenacher and Can Oncu took places off him through the chicane. Philipp Oettl had no remaining grip, but Krummenacher's one-second-a-lap-quicker pace wasn't fast enough to get a pass together when he finally caught him at the end of the last lap.

Dominique Aegerter won the race, once again with the fastest lap, pole position and the win, over seven seconds from Philipp Oettl and Randy Krummenacher. Luca Bernardi, over a second further back, held off Jules Cluzel, Manuel Gonzalez and Can Oncu for fourth place, but lost a place to Jules Cluzel for exceeding track limits. 

Dominique Aegerter increases his lead over Steven Odendaal, with Odendaal only finishing in thirteenth place, to forty four points. Philipp Oettl consolidated his third place in the championship, netting thirty six points over the weekend, and Jules Cluzel closed in on Luca Bernardi, closing to within six points of Bernardi's fourth place in the championship.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 7.697
3 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 8.119
4 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 9.852
6 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 0.082
7 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.408
8 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 675 14.282
9 70 M. ALCOBA Yamaha YZF R6 14.305
10 95 V. TAKALA Yamaha YZF R6 26.475
11 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 26.679
12 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 0.220
13 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 27.540
14 32 S. MORAIS Yamaha YZF R6 28.443
15 84 M. FABRIZIO Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.561
16 24 L. TACCINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 33.021
17 33 E. LAHTI Suzuki GSX-R600 45.727
18 42 S. FROSSARD Yamaha YZF R6 45.780
19 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 50.786
20 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 51.649
21 69 E. MONTERO HUERTA Yamaha YZF R6 1'26.567
22 19 P. SZKOPEK Yamaha YZF R6 11.797
RET 22 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 4 Laps
RET 7 M. CASADEI Yamaha YZF R6 10 Laps
RET 99 D. WEBB Yamaha YZF R6 11 Laps
RET 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 16 Laps
RET 94 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 17 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top