2021 Austria MotoE Race Result: Escape From The Rain And Everyone Else

The damp bitesize MotoE dash provided the final entertainment for the day at the Red Bull Ring and it was packed with overtakes, except for Lukas Tulovic, who took the lead at the start and did not need to make any more overtakes. The German rider was followed by a fast-starting Hikari Okubo and Xavi Cardelus, dropping poleman Fermín Aldeguer to fourth and things got even worse for the rookie as Alessandro Zaccone and Dominique Aegerter demoted him by the end of lap 1. Having started 13, Eric Granado made quick progress to catch up with the poleman by lap 2.

Tulovic had extended a gap of nearly two seconds over that first lap and Aegerter had a big bunch to contend with in the rest of the podium battle. After the slow start, Aldeguer was starting to pick up positions and was up to third by lap 3, demoting Cardelus into Granado’s reach. Although Aegerter pushed to reduce the gap to the leader to 1.5 seconds, the gap was not coming down quickly enough and he had Aldeguer and Granado waiting to pounce, while Cardelus and Okubo were battling Zaccone for 5th another second behind.

The leader’s gap dropped to under a second with 2 laps remaining but the three-way fight behind him ensured that Tulovic crossed the finish line with an 8-tenth advantage to claim his maiden victory in MotoE. Granado claimed second position at turn 4 on the final lap, while Aegerter pushed Aldeguer off the podium at turn 9, the poleman off the podium for one hundredth of a second. With Cardelus crashing out on the final lap, Okubo claimed fifth ahead of Zaccone and Torres, who recovered a few positions after a slow start.

That sees the battle for the title tighten up, with Zaccone only 7 points ahead of Granado, Torres another point back and Aegerter only 11 points behind the leader.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 3 Lukas Tulovic Energica 8'06.619
2 51 Eric Granado Energica +0.839
3 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica +1.145
4 54 Fermín Aldeguer Energica +1.163
5 78 Hikari Okubo Energica +1.892
6 61 Alessandro Zaccone Energica +2.371
7 40 Jordi Torres Energica +2.424
8 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica +4.805
9 21 Kevin Zannoni Energica +5.199
10 68 Yonny Hernandez Energica +5.510
11 9 Andrea Mantovani Energica +7.068
12 71 Miquel Pons Energica +8.296
13 19 Corentin Perolari Energica +11.430
14 80 Jasper Iwema Energica +12.233
15 43 Stefano Valtulini Energica +14.950
16 14 Andre Pires Energica +15.561
17 6 Maria Herrera Energica +20.214
18 18 Xavi Cardelus Energica +1'24.945
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top