2021 Navarra World Supersport Race One Result: More Exciting

World Supersport was twenty warm laps of the four kilometre Navarra circuit.

Dominique Aegerter got a bad start from pole position as Steven Odendaal led Manuel Gonzales and Simon Jespersen. As Gonzalez took the lead in turn three, Aegerter behind him cleared two places to pass Jespersen and Bernardi, but the after a lap of scrapping, Aegerter was pushed back to sixth place, trading places with Jules Cluzel. 

Aegerter, Cluzel and Bernardi continued to swap places as Steven Odendaal took the lead back from Manuel Gonzalez halfway through the lap as Dominique Aegerter ended lap two in fourth place behind Simon Jespersen but with the fastest lap. The leading seven, joined by Federico Caricasulo in seventh, were all within reach of each other. 

Steven Odendaal set the fastest lap but was unable to break free of Miguel Gonzalez while third-placed Simon Jespersen was put under pressure by Dominique Aegerter. At the start of lap five, the leading seven were still well under half a second of each other as they closed up, pushed by Caricasulo at the back and Odendaal the slowest of the group in the lead. 

As Jespersen and Aegerter swapped places back and forth, Manuel Gonzales finally found a way past Steven Odendaal to take the lead as Aegerter took third place from Jespersen. At turn three of lap seven, Simon Jespersen went wide and had to recover from his mistake over a second off sixth placed Federico Caricasulo, leaving the lead peloton with only six bikes that soon split into two groups of three.

Into turn nine, Steven Odendaal took the lead from Manuel Gonzalez, and as Gonzalez looked for a way back in front, he left a gap for Dominique Aegerter to sneak under him to take second place. Aegerter sniffed at the heels of Odendaal taking the lead into the last turn, but without enough drive to hold off Odendaal's charge to the first turn as the top six all closed up again. 

At half race distance, Steven Odendaal led Dominique Aegerter, Luca Bernardi, Manuel Gonzalez, Jules Cluzel and Federico Caricasulo. Bernardi tried to pass Aegerter in the early turns, but he couldn't make anything stick. The twelve-wheeled freight train powered around another lap with Aegerter making a turn eight pass and sticking his elbows out to maintain the lead into turn nine at the end of the back straight. Further back Manuel Gonzalez crashed out of the top six and was taken to the medical centre to be checked out. 

Lap thirteen, Steven Odendaal took the lead back into turn one, but Aegerter slipped under Odendaal into turn three to take the lead back. Once Aegerter got back to the front, after the elbow-to-elbow duel with Odendaal, he started slicing a tenth or so off every sector, starting lap fifteen having set the fastest lap and clawing a half second lead over Odendaal. Behind Odendaal, Luca Bernardi was almost a second off Odendaal and a second clear of Jules Cluzel and Federico Caricasulo. 

With four laps remaining, Dominique Aegerter had a lead of two seconds and was settled into ticking off the laps with a pace over half a second quicker than the riders behind him. With a small error, Steven Odendaal fell into the clutches of Luca Bernardi as Aegerter was three seconds clear in the lead. Odendaal switched to defensive lines as Bernardi closed in, but Bernardi remained within four tenths of a second as he looked for a pass. 

At the start of the last lap, Dominique Aegerter held on to a lead of over four seconds over the fight between Steven Odendaal and Luca Bernardi with Jules Cluzel in fourth place two seconds back, defending against Federico Caricasulo, lining up a couple of last lap fights near the front of the race. Odendaal and Cluzel held their places, with Cluzel having to take fourth back from Caricasulo in the last few turns. 

Dominique Aegerter win the race and extended his championship lead to forty two points over Steven Odendaal who is forty for points ahead of Philipp Oettl. Luca Bernardi passes Manuel Gonzalez to take forth place in the title chase.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 4.425
4 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 6.124
5 94 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 6.674
6 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 10.729
7 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 7.472
8 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.047
9 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 19.954
10 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 675 21.876
11 55 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 26.139
12 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.366
13 96 D. SANCHIS MARTINEZ Yamaha YZF R6 31.526
14 95 V. TAKALA Yamaha YZF R6 31.734
15 71 C. BERGMAN Yamaha YZF R6 32.120
16 72 B. GOMEZ Yamaha YZF R6 34.046
17 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 36.057
18 31 D. VALLE Yamaha YZF R6 36.084
19 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 36.381
20 22 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 37.126
21 42 S. FROSSARD Yamaha YZF R6 48.876
22 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 52.468
23 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 1'02.499
24 24 L. TACCINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
RET 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 4 Laps
RET 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 9 Laps
RET 84 M. FABRIZIO Kawasaki ZX-6R 11 Laps
RET 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 13 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top