2021 Magny-Cours World Supersport Race Two Result: I Hear You Like Sprint Races …

World Supersport race two would be missing three riders after yesterday's chaotic events. Valentin Debise and Michel Fabrizio were ruled unfit after their unrelated unusual accidents. The race would try to be nineteen laps again, but another incident at the end of lap one brought out the red flags.

Luca Bernardi got a good start from pole position, leading Dominique Aegerter and Jules Cluzel. Aegerter briefly held the lead in turn five but Bernardi was able to take the lead back out of the corner. At the end of lap one, Luca Bernardi lost the front in the final Lycée chicane and collected Dominique Aegerter sand Jules Cluzel, dumping three Yamahas on the tricky chicane. Dominique Aegerter made it back to the pits under the five minute limit and the Ten Kate team started fixing his slapped about bike for the twelve lap restart.

Luca Bernardi and Jules Cluzel were both sent to the medical centre and the race would restart five riders down, moving championship contender Steven Odendaal up a few places.

Dominique Aegerter led Niki Tuuli, Manuel Gonzalez and Philipp Oettl with Can Oncu charging up to join in the fun as riders jostled for position at the front. After a lap, Aegerter led Gonzalez, Oncu, Tuuli and Oettl. Steven Odendaal was unable to make progress in ninth place. Gonzalez looked for a way past at turn five and made a pass into the Nurburgring chicane work. Philipp Oettl set the fastest lap on lap two and on lap three, Aegerter took the inside line in to turn five, the Adelaide hairpin, and claimed the lead back. Can Oncu made a few aggressive attempts to take second place from Gonzalez. Race winner Andy Verdoia set the fastest lap on lap three but he was overhauled by Steven Odendaal and Federico Caricasulo on lap four.

Dominique Aegerter and Manuel Gonzalez set fastest lapses they started stretching out a lead from Can Oncu, Philipp Oettl and Niki Tuuli. Gonzalez tried to pass Aegerter on the outside of turn five, but Aegerter pushed to the edge of the track, forcing Gonzalez to relent.

Six laps in, half race distance, Dominique Aegerter had off Manuel Gonzalez, setting another fastest lap on his duct taped bike, with Can Oncu holding off Philipp Oettl and Niki Tuuli behind them. Steven Odendaal was over a second further back with Federico Caricasulo, Raffaele De Rosa and race winner Andy Verdoia rounding out the top nine.

Dominique Aegerter maintained a fast pace, but he couldn't escape from Manuel Gonzalez and Can Oncu. Gonzalez escaped from Oncu by setting the fastest lap as he closed up to Aegerter, almost passing into the Adelaide hairpin. Nine laps down, and Gonzalez was a quarter of a second behind Aegerter over the line with Can Oncu over a second behind. As Manuel Gonzalez tried to take the win from Dominique Aegerter, Can Oncu fought off Philipp Oettl as Oncu tried to get his first podium in the class. Oettl took third into the Adelaide but Oncu held it on the brakes. 

Into turn thirteen, Manuel Gonzalez took the lead, and Dominique Aegerter tried to take it back into the Lycée only to have Gonzalez take it back. On the last lap, the pair swapped places back and forth, with Aegerter taking the lead into the Lycée only to suffer a slight wobble as his suspension bottomed out and watch Gonzalez slip underneath. Both riders on the limit into the chicane with Manuel Gonzalez in front, and Gonzalez took his first win in the class against the championship leader Aegerter.

Manuel Gonzalez took a hard-earned victory with Dominique Aegerter right behind him. Can Oncu claimed his first podium in the class with Philipp Oettl in his shadow in fourth with Niki Tuuli looking on. A second behind them, Steven Odendaal and Federico Caricasulo finished sixth and seventh ahead of race winner Andy Verdoia.

Manuel Gonzalez climbed up to fifth place with his race win, clawing his way to within three points of fourth-placed Luca Bernardi. Gonzalez is only the third rider to take a race win this year. Dominique Aegerter will be missing from the next round to compete in the MotoE championship, leaving fifty points on the table, but he increased his lead to sixty two points on a rebuilt bike. Steven Odendaal is sixty two points behind Aegerter and sixty two points ahead of Philipp Oettl.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6  
2 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6 0.155
3 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.283
4 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.633
5 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 675 1.964
6 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 2.900
7 94 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 3.243
8 30 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 6.303
9 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 6.626
10 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 6.893
11 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 8.458
12 42 S. FROSSARD Yamaha YZF R6 10.976
13 71 C. BERGMAN Yamaha YZF R6 12.899
14 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 13.021
15 22 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 14.119
16 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 15.252
17 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6 17.200
18 96 D. SANCHIS MARTINEZ Yamaha YZF R6 17.801
19 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 20.769
20 55 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 28.167
21 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 28.421
22 31 D. VALLE Yamaha YZF R6 28.962
23 24 L. TACCINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 39.827
24 40 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 46.769
25 69 E. MONTERO HUERTA Yamaha YZF R6 49.721
RET 95 V. TAKALA Yamaha YZF R6 3 Laps
RET 29 L. BERNARDI Yamaha YZF R6  
RET 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


WSS has got it all this year. Great stuff! And with Domi skipping the next round to run that stupid Moto E series, the fight for the title is only going to get closer.

Been a great season so far.

he can kiss his lucky *** for that red flag. Allows him to do the skippedidooda at Catalunya