2021 San Juan Villicum World Supersport Superpole Result: No-Stop Strategy Nets Lap Record

World Supersport qualifying was twenty minutes long, with Jules Cluzel almost eight tenths of a second quicker than the rest of the field on Friday, setting the lap record. 

Jules Cluzel and Dominique Aegerter were the last riders to head to the track, letting Manuel Gonzalez and Philipp Oettl hit the top spot before they recorded a flying lap. Oettl's opening lap was a 1'43.516 but Dominique Aegerter set a 1'43.121 and held top spot until Manuel Gonzalez's second lap, a 1'42.693, moved him up. As Dominique Aegerter was on his second lap, Jules Cluzel set a 1'42.174, half a second quicker than anyone else.

Cluzel then set a 1'42.165 on his third lap, but Dominique Aegerter was just over a tenth off his pace as riders pitted in with ten minutes left. However, Jules Cluzel didn't put back in and had the track to himself, setting a 1'42.139 followed by a 1'41.930 as everyone else watched on from their boxes. 

Jules Cluzel stayed out for one more lap on his red-stickered SCX tyre, then another a quarter of a second off his best lap, but even his slower laps were better than second-best Dominique Aegerter. Cluzel with traffic filling the track slipped in 1'41.740, a new lap record by almost two tenths of a second on his eighth lap. 

Steven Odendaal pushed up to second quickest, three tenths slower than Cluzel, with Dominique Aegerter under two tenths slower and Can Oncu splitting the pair, third quickest. Manuel Gonzalez slipped into third before the flag came out and Aegerter and Gonzalez were the only riders on hot laps as the flag came out and Cluzel finally pitted in.

Jules Cluzel, with a no-stop strategy, claimed pole position by over a third of a second over Steven Odendaal, with Manuel Gonzalez filling the last place on the front row. Can Oncu headed the second row alongside Dominique Aegerter, unable to improve his pace on the last lap, and Valentin Debise.

Jules Cluzel recorded ten lap times, four of which would have earned him pole position.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time Gap Speed
1 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 1'41.740   268,9
2 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.075 0.335 270,9
3 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.080 0.340 266,2
4 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'42.136 0.396 271,6
5 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.173 0.433 267,6
6 53 V. DEBISE Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.199 0.459 265,6
7 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'42.348 0.608 266,9
8 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.508 0.768 268,2
9 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 675 1'42.710 0.970 264,3
10 40 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.728 0.988 270,2
11 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'42.745 1.005 268,9
12 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.790 1.050 268,2
13 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 1'42.858 1.118 266,9
14 95 V. TAKALA Yamaha YZF R6 1'43.010 1.270 267,6
15 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 1'43.194 1.454 263,6
16 74 A. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 1'43.820 2.080 262,4
17 32 S. MORAIS Yamaha YZF R6 1'43.908 2.168 261,7
18 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 1'44.491 2.751 266,9
19 64 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'46.086 4.346 266,2
20 57 M. PETRATTI Yamaha YZF R6 1'46.403 4.663 261,7
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top