2022 Mandalika Moto2 Race Result: Short But Sweet And History-Making

The sky became an ominous shade of grey by the time intermediate class riders lined up on the grid for the shortened 16-lap race on safety grounds, given the high temperatures. While some spots of rain dropped on cameras as early as the warm up lap, the weather didn’t end up playing a part in Somkiat Chantra’s history-making victory. The Honda Team Asia rider won in dominating fashion and brought Thailand its first victory in grand prix history. Celestino Vietti and Aron Canet celebrated with him on the podium, the Italian extending his lead in the championship with second position in Mandalika.

It was very obvious from the beginning who the strongest man on track was, Chantra making a great start from fourth on the grid to lead the way into turn one, ahead of Sam Lowes and poleman Jake Dixon. Vietti gained a couple places off the line to climb into fifth early on, with Canet seventh by the end of the opening lap, while Augusto Fernandez struggled at the start and dropped to eighth. Pedro Acosta made some early progress to challenge his teammate but with a long lap penalty looming large after his FP2 antics.

Chantra set a rapid pace at the front from the very beginning, keeping his closest rivals half a second away in the first couple of laps, but many of the challengers behind were still finding their place in the pack, Canet giving Simone Corsi and Vietti some trouble, while the Red Bull KTM Ajo duo were trading places until Acosta served his penalty on lap three and dropped to 15th position.

While Chantra added tenths here and there to his advantage, Dixon struggled to find a way past a slightly slower Lowes and by the time the move came at turn six on lap five, the leader was over a second and a half ahead. However, the poleman’s charge only lasted until turn 10, where he slid out, but Lowes wasn’t left with much of an advantage because Canet emerged as the lead challenger.

By lap 7, Chantra had a solid 1.6-second gap from Canet and Vietti, with Lowes unable to keep up and dropping about a second behind. However, there was no challenge from behind, with the next group down the road distanced by over four seconds, led by Tony Arbolino and Fermin Aldeguer. The Ajo boys were not making many waves early on, Fernandez down in 7th and Acosta recovering to 9th after serving his penalty.

At halfway point of the shortened race, Chantra had extended his lead to over two seconds, while Vietti got past Canet and the duo dropped Lowes in a pretty lonely fourth position. Meanwhile, drops of rain continued to show on the camera but other than the very occasional tumble further down the field, there were no reasons to suggest the weather played much of a part in proceedings at this stage.

Chantra carried on comfortably at the front, his pace putting him three seconds ahead with five laps remaining and the only thing left to decide was the order in which Vietti and Canet would join him on the podium. The Italian soon managed to put seven tenths over the Spaniard, who pushed for the remaining laps to bridge that gap. Lowes had a lonely ride in fourth, with much of the late action provided by Fernandez, Aldeguer and Ogura in the battle for fifth.

It was an anxious final two laps for the intermediate class, with the skies getting darker and darker, but Chantra had no rival and the Thai rider took the chequered flag with over three seconds of advantage. Vietti put a second between himself and Canet in the closing stages to settle the hierarchy on the podium, with Lowes settling for four, eight seconds behind the winner. Fernandez crossed the finish line another four seconds later, ahead of Ogura and Aldeguer, with Arbolino, Acosta and Arenas rounding out the top 10 positions.

Back to back podiums for Vietti allow him to extend his lead in the championship to nine points over Canet and 16 over Lowes, while Chantra climbs 14th positions into fourth.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 35 Somkiat Chantra Kalex 25:40.8760
2 13 Celestino Vietti Kalex 3.23
3 40 Aron Canet Kalex 4.366
4 22 Sam Lowes Kalex 7.918
5 37 Augusto Fernandez Kalex 12.228
6 79 Ai Ogura Kalex 12.384
7 54 Fermín Aldeguer Boscoscuro 12.696
8 14 Tony Arbolino Kalex 14.547
9 51 Pedro Acosta Kalex 17.786
10 75 Albert Arenas Kalex 18.327
11 16 Joe Roberts Kalex 18.509
12 6 Cameron Beaubier Kalex 18.566
13 9 Jorge Navarro Kalex 19.711
14 52 Jeremy Alcoba Kalex 19.96
15 64 Bo Bendsneyder Kalex 20.551
16 23 Marcel Schrotter Kalex 23.047
17 42 Marcos Ramirez MV Agusta 23.218
18 18 Manuel Gonzalez Kalex 24.179
19 5 Romano Fenati Boscoscuro 25.133
20 19 Lorenzo Dalla Porta Kalex 26.954
21 12 Filip Salac Kalex 27.678
22 2 Gabriel Rodrigo Kalex 29.548
23 84 Zonta Van Den Goorbergh Kalex 31.773
24 61 Alessandro Zaccone Kalex 32.436
25 28 Niccolň Antonelli Kalex 33.974
Not Classified
  24 Simone Corsi MV Agusta 06:31.8750
  81 Keminth Kubo Kalex 11:35.0240
  4 Sean Dylan Kelly Kalex 21:55.4750
  96 Jake Dixon Kalex 22:43.1370
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top