2022 Argentina Moto2 Race Result: A Bit Of Heartbreak, A Whole Lot Of Race

I don’t know what it feels like to line up on the grid as the youngest poleman in intermediate class history, having dominated all practice sessions in Argentina, but I imagine it’s a fair mix of overwhelming nerves and high expectations. What I do know is that only a soap opera writer could have authored Fermín Aldeguer’s unnecessarily dramatic plotline, which eased Celestino Vietti into a second victory of the season. Not that the Italian needed any help, having led the race for most of its 23 laps and taking the chequered flag a second and a half ahead of the closest challenger. Although Somkiat Chantra lost touch with the eventual winner over the final couple of laps, the Thai rider surprised with back to back podiums - and the celebrations were twice as loud for the Honda Team Asia crew once Ai Ogura settled the battle for third at the penultimate corner, opening his podium tab for the season.

Poleman Aldeguer didn’t do much wrong, making a good launch from the front of the grid and helped by a very poor start by Augusto Fernandez, who didn’t make it past turn 1 and nearly took Ogura out with him in the gravel trap. The nudge lost the Japanese rider a few positions but all eyes were on the poleman at that early stage, who quickly put half a second into the chasing pack led by Vietti, Tony Arbolino and Chantra. Aron Canet was one of the highlights of the opening lap, progressing from 12th to fifth, as was Pedro Acosta, the rookie fighting Sam Lowes for 10th by lap two, having started 17th on the grid.

Back at the front, Aldeguer’s early advantage was swiftly reduced by Vietti and the Italian soon picked up the lead at the first corner, the duo dropping the rest of the contenders over a second back, with Chantra, Canet and Arbolino as the main actors in the battle for third. Although Aldeguer held onto Vietti, there were no attempts to resume the lead and the Spaniard was soon to get a challenge from behind, Chantra closing the gap by lap seven. Just as it started to look like a fine three-way battle for victory would unfold, Aldeguer and Vietti collided coming out of turn 13, the Italian trying to recover from taking a wider line than he would’ve liked and finding Aldeguer on the racing line. The rookie found himself on the losing end of the racing incident, sent into a nasty high speed pirouette and limping out of victory contention.

Although Vietti dropped one challenger, Chantra wanted another taste at victory and got a front row view of the leader’s rear tyre by the halfway point of the race. His task was made easier by yet another mistake from Vietti at turn 13, allowing Chantra to breeze past – this time both riders making it out unscathed. The scenario repeated one lap later, when a mistake from Chantra allowed Vietti to resume the lead, while another second back, Ogura and Canet fought for the honour of leading the pursuit. Canet brought down the gap to six tenths of a second with eight laps remaining, but his defensive lines suggested he was still warrying of Ogura being glued to his tail, so the gap to the leaders went straight back to one full second.

Vietti and Chantra entered the final five laps separated by half a second’s worth of tarmac and the Thai rider held onto that gap as long as he could but had to admit defeat in the final two laps, allowing the gap to grow to over a second. Meanwhile, all eyes were on the battle for third, Ogura using turn 13 to his advantage to demote Canet but unable to shake off the Spaniard until the chequered flag. Canet gave it his all on the final lap, with attacks at turns five and seven, but Ogura showed off at turn 13 once more to secure the final podium position. A late exchange between Jake Dixon and Arbolino ended with the British rider claiming fifth, while Acosta resisted Albert Arenas to take seventh and with Bo Bendsneyder and Sam Lowes rounding out the top 10 places.

Vietti’s victory, coupled with Canet being bumped off the podium on the final lap, puts a 21-point gap between them in the championship standings, with Chantra climbing into third, 25 points behind the leader.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 13 Celestino Vietti Kalex 39:44.0980
2 35 Somkiat Chantra Kalex 1.538
3 79 Ai Ogura Kalex 5.703
4 40 Aron Canet Kalex 5.88
5 96 Jake Dixon Kalex 6.584
6 14 Tony Arbolino Kalex 7.538
7 51 Pedro Acosta Kalex 12.177
8 75 Albert Arenas Kalex 12.418
9 64 Bo Bendsneyder Kalex 13.656
10 22 Sam Lowes Kalex 14.254
11 6 Cameron Beaubier Kalex 20.077
12 23 Marcel Schrotter Kalex 25.736
13 16 Joe Roberts Kalex 28.317
14 18 Manuel Gonzalez Kalex 29.784
15 42 Marcos Ramirez MV Agusta 30.27
16 52 Jeremy Alcoba Kalex 37.884
17 24 Simone Corsi MV Agusta 37.956
18 5 Romano Fenati Boscoscuro 38.325
19 81 Keminth Kubo Kalex 64.858
Not Classified
  84 Zonta Van Den Goorbergh Kalex 01:50.3770
  9 Jorge Navarro Kalex 34:45.7970
  4 Sean Dylan Kelly Kalex  
  2 Gabriel Rodrigo Kalex 33:21.0740
  19 Lorenzo Dalla Porta Kalex 34:56.4980
  28 Niccolò Antonelli Kalex  
  37 Augusto Fernandez Kalex  
  12 Filip Salac Kalex 19:23.0140
  54 Fermín Aldeguer Boscoscuro 10:23.9620
  61 Alessandro Zaccone Kalex 16:05.9030
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top