2022 Aragon World Supersport Race One Result: How To Save It On Your Knee

The start of a new era's racing as the Next Generation bikes join World Supersport, but the front of the grid was still held by the 600cc bikes. 

Dominique Aegerter led Can Oncu and Lorenzo Baldassarri as the Ducati of Federico Caricasulo and the MV Agusta of Nikki Tuuli caught right up. Can Oncu took the lead before the long back straight but Aegerter took the lead back into turn one of lap two. Jules Cluzel crashed into turn one but picked his bike up to rejoin in twenty eighth place, ahead of Unai Orradre in last place.

Glenn van Straalen clawed his way to fourth place as Can Oncu took the lead back at the start of lap three. Dominique Aegerter set the fastest lap, a 1'54.526, in third place, over a second clear of van Straalen. 

A fight broke out in fifth place, with Federico Caricasulo, Nicolo Bulega, Marcel Brenner, Niki Tuuli, Adrian Huertas and Tom Booth-Amos covered by a handful of tenths as the six swapped places until they were joined by Stefano Manzi and a crashing Yari Montella. Can Oncu set a race lap record of 1'53.863 in the lead.

Can Oncu started lap six with a lead of just under a second from Lorenzo Baldassarri and Dominique Aegerter, and the lap ended with Aegerter setting a new race lap record of 1'53.795. 

At half race distance, Can Oncu led Lorenzo Baldassarri and Dominique Aegerter with Glenn van Straalen under two seconds behind in fourth place. Contesting fifth place, Nicolo Bulega led Niki Tuuli and Stefano Manzi on three Next Generation bikes, a Ducati, an MV Agusta and a Triumph. 

At the start of lap nine, Lorenzo Baldassarri took the lead from Can Oncu before the finish line, and Dominique Aegerter followed him through to take second from Oncu. Another lap and the leading trio maintained their places and gaps, covered by four tenths. Aegerter took the lead into turn two and tried to make his customary endgame escape, but Baldassarri put paid to that plan down the back straight, taking the lead from his fellow Yamaha rider. Aegerter retook the lead into turn one, holding it through turn two. 

With four laps to go, Dominique Aegerter led Lorenzo Baldassarri and Can Oncu with Glenn van Straalen four seconds behind them. Niki Tuuli closed on and passed Nicolo Bulega with Stefano Manzi three seconds behind them. With two laps left, Can Oncu dropped off the fight for the win, over a second behind the Yamaha bikes in the lead, with Lorenzo Baldassarri holding the advantage and trying to break away. 

The last lap had Lorenzo Baldassarri a sixth of a second ahead of Dominique Aegerter, but Aegerter took the lead into turn one and holding it through turn two as Baldassarri slotted in behind him, waiting for the back straight, but Aegerter lost the lead heading onto the long straight. As they headed into the last corner, Baldassarri lost the front and slid into the corner, knocking Aegerter off the track as he collected him on the outside. Somehow, Baldassarri held his bike on his knee and saved the crash, picking his bike up and making a run for the flag, holding the lead as the pair recovered from what should have been the end of their races.

Lorenzo Baldassarri took the win ahead of Dominique Aegerter and Can Oncu. Glenn van Straalen, over five seconds off third place, took fourth place, two seconds from Nicolo Bulega and Niki Tuuli. Stefano Manzi held off Federico Caricasulo to put all three Next Generation bikes in the top seven.

Lorenzo Baldassarri's impressive World Supersport debut started with a race win, a saved crash and a lead in the championship. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6  
2 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6 0.239
3 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.926
4 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 6.875
5 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 2.217
6 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 10.194
7 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 15.494
8 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 0.035
9 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 16.730
10 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 6.783
11 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 23.775
12 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 23.939
13 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.044
14 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 0.560
15 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 26.108
16 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 0.082
17 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 26.389
18 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 26.868
19 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 39.919
20 17 K. SMITH Yamaha YZF R6 41.545
21 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 1.300
22 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 0.121
23 12 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 1.289
24 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 45.631
25 88 A. ZETTI Yamaha YZF R6 46.846
26 15 E. MCMANUS Kawasaki ZX-6R 23.570
27 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 2 Laps
RET 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 9 Laps
RET 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 12 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top