2022 Aragon World Supersport Race Two Result: A Welcome Return

The air temperature rose to 16ºC with a gentle breeze for the second World Supersport race of the weekend. Stefano Manzi would start the race from the back of the grid due to a tyre pressure infringement. 

Dominique Aegerter lept past Lorenzo Baldassarri, holding the lead from Baldassarri and Can Oncu. Behind the leading trio, a mistake by Federico Caricasulo held the group up giving the leading trio a gap of over a second from the hunting pack, led by Yari Montella. Can Oncu made a couple of probes on the second lap, but Baldassarri fended off the attacks. Dominique Aegerter set a fastest lap of 1'53.796 from the lead.

Behind Yari Montella, Glenn van Straalen, Niki Tuuli, Niicolo Bulega, Adrian Huertas and Jules Cluzel fought for fifth place, but on lap three, they all caught Montella, with van Straalen passing Montella for fourth place, over two seconds behind the leading trio. Dominique Aegerter set another fastest lap on lap three, with a 1'53.639 ahead of Baldassarri and Oncu, all three under the previous race record.

On lap four, Stefano Manzi clawed his way up to fourteenth place from the back of the grid. Glenn van Straalen broke free of the Bulega-led five-bike fight for fifth place, over a second clear but almost three seconds off third-placed Can Oncu.

At the end of lap five, Lorenzo Baldassarri slipped past Dominique Aegerter for the lead, but less than four tenths of a second covered the leading trio. Aegerter tried different lines to look for a way past Baldassarri as Can Oncu watched on, keeping up with the Yamahas ahead of him.

At half race distance, Lorenzo Baldassarri led Dominique Aegerter and Can Oncu with six tenths of a second covering the leading trio. Three seconds behind the leaders, Glenn van Straalen was under two seconds clear of Nicolo Bulega, Jules Cluzel, Niki Tuuli and Yari Montella. Can Oncu maintained the same pace as Lorenzo Baldassarri in the lead, but Dominique Aegerter was quicker than the bikes either side of him and he closed up to the leader and while he looked like he was thinking of making a pass, he didn't commit to anything, looking happy to maintain second place.

Two thirds of the way through the fifteen lap race, Aegerter sat in a comfortable second place behind Baldassarri and ahead of Oncu who was lapping a couple of tenths quicker than the leading Yamahas. At the end of lap eleven, Can Oncu was half a second slower than the bikes in front and was in a prime position to watch Dominique Aegerter take the lead into turn one with four laps left. Can Oncu lost another half second as the Yamahas set out to decide the lead. 

Can Oncu settled for third place, two and a half seconds off the race for the win with two laps remaining, over two seconds clear of Glenn van Straalen in fourth place. Dominique Aegerter held the lead unchallenged on the penultimate lap but the leading Yamahas were under two tenths of a second apart starting the last lap. Can Oncu pulled off the track at the start of the last lap with a mechanical problem, handing a provisional podium place to Glenn van Straalen with Nicolo Bulega on his tail. 

Lorenzo Baldassarri looked for gaps, but didn't find a passing opportunity until the long back straight where he was able to pull alongside Dominique Aegerter, but just like the Superbike race yesterday, Aegerter took a wider entry into the last corners, slipping underneath Baldassarri and forcing his rival to take a less optimal line as the pair hammered out of the last corner to the flag. Dominique Aegerter crossed the line with just three hundredths of a second of a lead over Baldassarri next to him. 

In the fight for third place, Nicolo Bulega swerved past Glenn van Straalen to take third place into the last corners, grabbing Ducati's first podium since Paolo Casoli in 2000, and the first Next Generation podium of 2022.

The championship lead is shared between Lorenzo Baldassarri and Dominique Aegerter, ahead of Nicolo Bulega and Glenn van Straalen.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 0.030
3 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 7.557
4 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 8.012
5 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 11.276
6 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 13.050
7 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 2.682
8 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 16.573
9 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 3.505
10 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 20.227
11 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.335
12 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 1.315
13 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 1.510
14 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 26.731
15 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 2.779
16 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 29.529
17 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 32.289
18 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.339
19 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 0.302
20 17 K. SMITH Yamaha YZF R6 33.939
21 12 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 9.062
22 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 43.509
23 15 E. MCMANUS Kawasaki ZX-6R 16.310
RET 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
RET 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 3 Laps
RET 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps
RET 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 5 Laps
RET 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 14 Laps
RET 88 A. ZETTI Yamaha YZF R6  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top