2022 Jerez MotoE Race 2 Result: A Hard-Fought Perfect Weekend

MotoE closed the show in Jerez with another eight-lap sprint the same grid configuration as race one and a déjà vu vibe to the podium, with Eric Granado taking another victory for LCR after a more subdued start. The focus was on Hector Garzo and Mattia Casadei as they robbed poleman Miquel Pons off the line, but the order got shuffled soon, when a busy turn six left Dominique Aegerter in charge of the proceedings. Pons reclaimed the lead at the final corner of the opening lap and Aegerter bided his time for another attack, while Granado was recovering from a poorer start to challenge front row starter Garzo and third row starter Hikari Okubo for third by lap two. After the fast start, Casadei got pushed down to sixth in the early shenanigans, while reigning champion Jordi Torres was down in in eighth.

Back at the front, Aegerter made his move at turn nine, to once again lead the way on lap four, closely followed by the two LCR men, while Garzo led the next group, seven tenths down the road, including Casadei, Okubo, Matteo Ferrari and Torres. That task was soon handed over to Casadei, as the Italian attacked Garzo at the final turn and the Spaniard got unsettled and slid out of contention with four laps remaining, the gap to the leaders increasing to over a second.

Pons and Aegerter continued to switch things up at the front for the next couple of laps and Granado seemed to be struggling to find a way past the two, but not through a lack of trying. The Brazilian made his move on the penultimate lap, helped by Aegerter running wide after an overly optimistic attack on Pons at the first corner and the exchanges allowed Casadei to close in on the battle. Pons stated the final lap in the lead once more, but Granado attacked at popular turn six and held it to the line to secure a second victory in Jerez. While Pons settled for second, Casadei attacked Aegerter at the final corner to claim the final podium position , helped by a slight wiggle for the Swiss rider. Okubo, Ferrari and Torres were joined by rookie Alex Escrig, Niccolo Canepa and Kevin Manfredi in the top 10 places.

Granado leaves Jerez with a perfect 50 points in the title battle, 17 more than Aegerter, 22 over Pons and 24 on Ferrari. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Time Diff Prev
1 51 Eric Granado Energica      
2 77 Miquel Pons MV Agusta   0.217  
3 27 Mattia Casadei Kalex   0.394  
4 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica   0.488  
5 78 Hikari Okubo Energica   1.182  
6 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica   1.715  
7 40 Jordi Torres Kalex   2.701  
8 17 Alex Escrig Energica   4.202  
9 7 Niccolo Canepa Energica   5.471  
10 34 Kevin Manfredi Energica   5.755  
11 12 Xavi Fores Energica   7.061  
12 3 Lukas Tulovic Energica   10.497  
13 21 Kevin Zannoni Energica   10.880  
14 6 Maria Herrera Energica   18.274  
15 72 Alessio Finello Energica   26.343  
  70 Marc Alcoba Energica   0.000  
Not Classified
  28 Yeray Ruiz Energica   0.000  
  4 Hector Garzo Energica   0.000  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top