2022 Le Mans Moto3 Race Result: Red For Rain, Orange For Victory

Grey clouds over Le Mans had a bit of a drumroll effect ahead of the lightweight class race and although the race started dry, drops of rain started appearing on camera before riders even completed the opening lap. A red flag was soon prompted by the small pile of bikes gathering in the gravel at the final corner, including the championship leader, and a new 14-lap race was scheduled from original grid positions. Although the restarted race was declared wet, the sun was back, shining brightly over the circuit as all riders lined up on the grid on slick tyres for a second attempt.

After Diogo Moreira aced the start to lead into turn two the first time around, poleman Dennis Foggia managed to hold into top spot a little while longer at the second try, but the rookie was back ahead into the Dunlop chicane. Meanwhile, Sergio Garcia made a much better start than his first one, to join the top three after the first few corners, fending off Jaume Masia and Tatsuki Suzuki. Despite the two fantastic starts, Moreira only lasted one lap in the lead before getting swallowed by the pack and dropping out of the top 10, a long lap penalty eventually separating him from the leading group.

With Foggia back in control at the front, Masia, Suzuki and Garcia continued to be his main challengers but with a big group still in tow, including Izan Guevara at the bottom of the top ten. Masia attacked at the start of lap four to take control of proceedings and held onto top spot despite Foggia’s advances over the next few laps. Garcia kept close but didn’t join the battle at the front until lap seven, when he attacked Foggia and was trying to find a way around his leading compatriot. While Deniz Öncü and Suzuki kept each other busy in the battle for fourth, Ayumu Sasaki was bridging the small gap that had appeared in the leading group and brought the rest of the top 12 back into contention, including the likes of Guevara, Carlos Tatay and Andrea Migno.

While Guevara was posting fastest laps a little further down the road, Masia continued unchallenged at the front, helped by the tussle between Foggia and Garcia, the Italian’s retaliation at turn four dropping the Spaniard out of the top five. Foggia chose to attack Masia with four laps remaining, reclaiming top spot while Sasaki and Suzuki were sniffing around Masia as well. Guevara had finally joined the top five, while a mistake from teammate Garcia, running wide at the Dunlop chicane, dropped him about a second behind the leaders for the final couple of laps.

Although Foggia started the final lap in the lead, Masia attacked him at turn three and although Sasaki got some brief airtime at the front on that last lap, the Spaniard retaliated at the penultimate corner to secure his second victory of the season. Sasaki settled for a return on the second step of the podium, while Guevara’s carbon copy overtake at turn 13 left Foggia off the podium and down in fourth, ahead of teammate Suzuki. Garcia spent the final couple of laps under fire from Tatay and eventually had to admit defeat to the CFMOTO rider who claimed sixth place. Ryusei Yamanaka, Öncü and Migno rounded out the top 10 positions, while John McPhee’s return from injury was straight back into the points with a 12th position, three seconds behind the winner.

Despite the less than ideal result for Garcia, the Spaniard continues to lead the world championship, with Masia and Foggia now tied on a 17-point deficit and Guevara 23 points behind his teammate.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 5 Jaume Masia KTM 24:04.1190
2 71 Ayumu Sasaki Husqvarna 0.150
3 28 Izan Guevara GasGas 0.220
4 7 Dennis Foggia Honda 0.322
5 24 Tatsuki Suzuki Honda 0.529
6 99 Carlos Tatay CFMoto 1.594
7 11 Sergio Garcia GasGas 2.007
8 6 Ryusei Yamanaka KTM 2.275
9 53 Deniz Öncü KTM 2.502
10 16 Andrea Migno Honda 2.917
11 96 Daniel Holgado KTM 3.025
12 17 John McPhee Husqvarna 3.193
13 54 Riccardo Rossi Honda 3.330
14 10 Diogo Moreira KTM 7.993
15 27 Kaito Toba KTM 9.891
16 23 Elia Bartolini KTM 10.134
17 82 Stefano Nepa KTM 10.444
18 48 Ivan Ortola KTM 10.530
19 18 Matteo Bertelle KTM 10.812
20 31 Adrian Fernandez KTM 12.382
21 98 Jose Antonio Rueda Honda 12.435
22 64 Mario Suryo Aji Honda 12.552
23 20 Lorenzo Fellon Honda 12.697
24 87 Gerard Riu Male KTM 17.016
25 72 Taiyo Furusato Honda 26.961
26 70 Joshua Whatley Honda 27.278
27 22 Ana Carrasco KTM 32.200
Not Classified
  19 Scott Ogden Honda 05:18.5900
  43 Xavier Artigas CFMoto 18:59.0170
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top