2022 Estoril World Supersport Race One Result: Passes And Crashes

World Supersport was eighteen laps of a cool Estoril as a cloudy sky limited the temperature to 20ºC. Dominique Aegerter led the championship by thirty points at the start of the race.

Nicolo Bulega and Jules Cluzel passed Dominique Aegerter for the lead and Can Oncu carved his way from eighth to fourth place. Bulega went wide into turn six after pushing too hard trying to escape, and at the start of lap two, Can Oncu led Aegerter and Cluzel into turn one after the three rode three abreast down the straight. Federico Caricasulo and Glenn van Straalen overhauled Nicolo Bulega ahead of Lorenzo Baldassarri.

Can Oncu set a 1'40.751 fastest lap in the lead ahead of Aegerter and van Straalen at the end of lap two. A lap later, Nicolo Bulega set a 1'40.571 fastest lap in fifth place, behind Jules Cluzel. Into turn one of lap five, as Lorenzo Baldassarri set a fastest lap of 1'40.472, Aegerter tried to sneak under Can Oncu into turn one, but the Kawasaki rider held the lead on the brakes. At the start of lap six, Oncu, Aegerter and van Straalen crossed the line three abreast but entered turn one in the order that they started the straight.

A lap later, as Baldassarri once again set a fastest lap, a 1'40.437, the leading three rode into turn one together again, only this time van Straalen was able to take second place from Aegerter. Over the line to start lap eight, Glenn van Straalen took the lead over the line but Dominique Aegerter passed the leading pair to take the lead into turn one and he led van Straalen, Oncu, Cluzel and Baldassarri. With nobody in front of him for a lap, Aegerter set a 1'40.222 to set the fastest lap ahead of van Straalen, Oncu, Cluzel and Baldassarri. Raffaele De Rosa got a ride through penalty for not taking his long lap penalty as Glenn van Strallen dropped his bike in the chicane. After Aegerter set another fastest lap, a 1'40.058, Jules Cluzel crashed out of third place into turn one. Glenn van Straalen picked up his bike and recovered in twelfth place as Niki Tuuli crashed as well. 

Ten laps down, Dominique Aegerter had a lead of over three seconds over Can Oncu and Lorenzo Baldassarri with Nicolo Bulega and Federico Caricasulo. Lorenzo Baldassarri took second place from Oncu, over three seconds behind Aegerter in the lead. With six laps to go, Aegerter led Baldassarri by over three seconds with Can Oncu and Nicolo Bulega behind him. Federico Caricasulo was under a second off fourth place with Yari Montella five seconds behind him and Adrian Huertas a further six seconds behind until Glenn van Straalen caught Huertas to pass him ahead of race winner Andy Verdoia. 

Four laps remaining, Dominique Aegerter held a comfortable three lead of more than three seconds over Lorenzo Baldassarri, Can Oncu and Nicolo Bulega. The lead extended to four seconds a lap later as the three-way battle for second place became a two-way battle for third place a second behind Lorenzo Baldassarri. 

Two laps left, the top two spots were decided by Aegerter and Baldassarri while Oncu held off Bulega for the last step of the podium. Bulega's right glove started flapping about, but it didn't seem to trouble him as he passed Can Oncu into turn one of the last lap for the last step of the podium.

Dominique Aegerter won the first race of the weekend, three seconds ahead of Lorenzo Baldassarri with Nicolo Bulega a second and a half further back. Can Oncu took fourth place almost three seconds clear of Federico Caricasulo. Glenn van Straalen recovered from his crash to pick up seventh place. 

Dominique Aegerter, leading the MotoE World Cup as well as the World Supersport championship, increased his championship lead to thirty five points over Lorenzo Baldassarri. Nicolo Bulega in third place held onto third place in the championship. Can Oncu benefitted from Niki Tuuli's DNF to climb up to fifth place. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 3.029
3 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 1.501
4 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.335
5 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 2.710
6 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 7.950
7 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 20.515
8 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.772
9 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 21.076
10 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 21.396
11 17 K. SMITH Yamaha YZF R6 22.143
12 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 1.924
13 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 28.721
14 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 29.521
15 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 29.597
16 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 33.281
17 71 T. EDWARDS Yamaha YZF R6 38.692
18 36 S. KROEZE Yamaha YZF R6 40.202
19 12 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 0.654
20 22 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 3.607
21 13 L. OTTAVIANI Yamaha YZF R6 46.130
22 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 11.987
23 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 1'00.270
24 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 24.270
25 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
RET 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 4 Laps
RET 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps
RET 21 B. CURRIE Kawasaki ZX-6R 7 Laps
RET 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 9 Laps
RET 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 14 Laps
RET 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top