2022 Mugello MotoE Race 2 Result: More Joy For The Locals

The final performance of the day in Mugello was another MotoE sprint, ending with a home favourite taking the win, a video finish for second and a sprinkle of chaos throughout. In a repeat from Race 1, Kevin Zannoni made the best start to lead into San Donato ahead of poleman Dominique Aegerter and Matteo Ferrari, while Miquel Pons cruised through the pack to go from ninth on the grid to third by lap two. Eric Granado made another sluggish start down in 6th position but quickly found rival Aegerter pushed into his clutches by the close battles ahead. Meanwhile, title contender Mattia Casadei did not make it past the exit of turn 1, taking a tumble in the grass and a bit of a blow in the cup standings.

Ferrari attacked Zannoni at the start of lap three, when a group of eight stretched a gap at the front, also including Marc Alcoba, Pons, Niccolo Canepa, Granado, Aegerter and Andrea Mantovani. Although Zannoni tried to resume control next time around turn one, Ferrari held onto top spot, while Granado and Aegerter were engaged in direct battle for 6th position at that stage. However, the rest of the group seemed to be biding their time for a podium-worthy attack.

The action got livelier with two laps remaining, when Pons’s attack on Zannoni gave Ferrari some breathing space at the front, the leader starting the final lap of the race half a second ahead of his rivals. Having started that last lap in fourth position, the distance to the leader was too much for Aegerter to make up, but the Swiss rider attacked Pons at the final corner and then waited for the video finish to award him second over Alcoba. Because the two were inseparable on the timesheets, Aegerter kept second place due to posting the fastest lap of the race, while Alcoba settled for third, in his first MotoE podium. Pons got well and truly robbed on the final lap, dropping from second to fourth, with Canepa joining the top five ahead of Mantovani, Granado and Zannoni.

Aegerter’s late recovery helps him extend his lead in the cup standings to 28 points over Granado, while Ferrari’s first victory of the season brings him within 30 points of the leader, Casadei dropping 49 points back.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time Diff Prev
1 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica      
2 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica   0.529  
3 70 Marc Alcoba Energica   0.529  
4 77 Miquel Pons MV Agusta   0.566  
5 7 Niccolo Canepa Energica   0.739  
6 9 Andrea Mantovani Energica   1.621  
7 51 Eric Granado Energica   1.678  
8 21 Kevin Zannoni Energica   1.726  
9 34 Kevin Manfredi Energica   2.636  
10 4 Hector Garzo Energica   4.586  
11   Massimo Roccoli     10.091  
12 12 Xavi Fores Energica   10.547  
13 17 Alex Escrig Energica   10.764  
14 72 Alessio Finello Energica   12.165  
15 6 Maria Herrera Energica   17.117  
  78 Hikari Okubo Energica   0.000  
  27 Mattia Casadei Energica   0.000  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top